Action Replay help for newbies

BIOS, Controllers, Memory Cards, Serial I/O, Parallel I/O, etc.
Post Reply
Chris
Active PSXDEV User
Active PSXDEV User
Posts: 47
Joined: July 3rd, 2013, 4:38 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Action Replay help for newbies

Post by Chris » March 31st, 2015, 2:13 pm

OK, so I am going to attempt to play my PS1 game I'm making on my unmodded PS1. I can use Action Replay to do this. I'm wondering which version of Action Replay I should buy. For example, will this one on eBay work (auction #201312929220)? Or would I need a different one? Also, how do I go about "swapping the discs?" Perhaps someone can write a short tutorial for people who don't know what they're doing (like me)?

User avatar
TriMesh
PSX Aptitude
PSX Aptitude
Posts: 219
Joined: December 20th, 2013, 2:25 pm
PlayStation Model: DTL-H1202
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Action Replay help for newbies

Post by TriMesh » April 1st, 2015, 12:59 am

That one probably won't work - the best sort of "Action Replay" to use is one of the third-party ones that plugs into the expansion port.

If you have one of those, it's pretty simple - you just put an original disc in the console and use something to jam the switch that detects the drive door is open. Then you turn the console on, and when the cheat menu comes up you swap the disc and select "start game".

Honestly, it's a lot easier in the long run to put a mod chip in the console.

Chris
Active PSXDEV User
Active PSXDEV User
Posts: 47
Joined: July 3rd, 2013, 4:38 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Action Replay help for newbies

Post by Chris » April 1st, 2015, 11:34 am

OK, where would I get a mod chip then?

User avatar
Killer_Code
Interested PSXDEV User
Interested PSXDEV User
Posts: 8
Joined: February 14th, 2015, 10:31 pm
I am a: Student
IRC: Killer_Code
Motto: Keep It Short & Simple
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7502
Steam: gofm308
Location: Hungary

Re: Action Replay help for newbies

Post by Killer_Code » April 14th, 2015, 5:43 pm

The modchip is just a PIC MCU. 12C508 i think. if you or one of your friends has a pickit2 then you can download the modchip program to the MCU and you solder it in. reqires some soldering skill btw :D
It's not the amount of the ram. It's how you use it.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests