Sokoban for PS1

Start a log and update it occasionally with your projects progress
User avatar
Shendo
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 238
Joined: March 21st, 2012, 4:34 am
I am a: Programmer
Motto: Never settle
PlayStation Model: SCPH-9002
Location: Croatia, EU

Sokoban for PS1

Post by Shendo » November 3rd, 2013, 11:51 am

Seeing how PS1 lacks a Sokoban game (besides a JP release of Sokoban Basic) I decided to make a Sokoban clone.
Recently I made a version for the Chip16 virtual machine so I pretty much how to handle the game logic.

I decided to use a PSXSDK because I have gotten pretty familiarized with it and it's also free and open source.

Here is a screenshot of the progress so far. I have created a scrolling starfield effect
but it will be possible to turn it off if it annoys players.
Soko.png
I still have a lot of things to do:
Game logic, menus, music, saving and loading and maybe a level editor.

I am testing the game on a real PSone (SCPH-102) using PSXSERIAL.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My PS1 consoles: 2 x SCPH-1002, SCPH-5552, SCPH-7002, 4x SCPH-9002, 2 x SCPH-102.
Dev console: SCPH-9002, MM3 - 7 wire modchip, PAL color mod, CH340 serial cable addon.

User avatar
t0rxe
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 140
Joined: December 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm
IRC: t0rxe
Motto: /\OX[]
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Location: Australia

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by t0rxe » November 3rd, 2013, 2:07 pm

What about Pushy on the Yaroze? That is pretty much a Sokoban game :P
"Nostalgia isn't a big enough word to describe the PlayStation from my eyes"

User avatar
Shendo
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 238
Joined: March 21st, 2012, 4:34 am
I am a: Programmer
Motto: Never settle
PlayStation Model: SCPH-9002
Location: Croatia, EU

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by Shendo » November 3rd, 2013, 11:20 pm

Hm, never heard about it until now. Nice game I must say.
Though it doesn't seem to contain 50 original levels which is what I'm aiming for.
My PS1 consoles: 2 x SCPH-1002, SCPH-5552, SCPH-7002, 4x SCPH-9002, 2 x SCPH-102.
Dev console: SCPH-9002, MM3 - 7 wire modchip, PAL color mod, CH340 serial cable addon.

User avatar
t0rxe
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 140
Joined: December 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm
IRC: t0rxe
Motto: /\OX[]
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Location: Australia

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by t0rxe » November 4th, 2013, 1:26 am

Awesome! Can't wait to see what you create ^_^
"Nostalgia isn't a big enough word to describe the PlayStation from my eyes"

jman
Rookie Programmer
Rookie Programmer
Posts: 110
Joined: August 13th, 2013, 7:58 am

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by jman » November 4th, 2013, 3:00 am

Shendo wrote:Hm, never heard about it until now. Nice game I must say.
Though it doesn't seem to contain 50 original levels which is what I'm aiming for.
I used to play a Sokoban clone on my Palm Tungsten. If my memory serves, that clone touted the feature of being able to automatically import levels complying to a "standard" Sokoban level file format.
It could be interesting developing an importer (here's a small trail); apparently it's a simple text file.

User avatar
Shendo
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 238
Joined: March 21st, 2012, 4:34 am
I am a: Programmer
Motto: Never settle
PlayStation Model: SCPH-9002
Location: Croatia, EU

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by Shendo » November 6th, 2013, 1:02 pm

Thanks for the info. I already converted original levels to my own format when
I was making Chip16 version and I reused that data here.

Anyway, player can be moved now and levels are solvable.
Collision detection is working and logic seems to be working pretty well.
I also added a 256 undo moves which are stored on a LIFO stack which diches the oldest data if it's full.

Changed a tileset but that probably won't be a final look. I still have to make player look good.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My PS1 consoles: 2 x SCPH-1002, SCPH-5552, SCPH-7002, 4x SCPH-9002, 2 x SCPH-102.
Dev console: SCPH-9002, MM3 - 7 wire modchip, PAL color mod, CH340 serial cable addon.

jman
Rookie Programmer
Rookie Programmer
Posts: 110
Joined: August 13th, 2013, 7:58 am

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by jman » November 6th, 2013, 5:42 pm

Shendo wrote: Anyway, player can be moved now and levels are solvable.
Collision detection is working and logic seems to be working pretty well.
I also added a 256 undo moves which are stored on a LIFO stack which diches the oldest data if it's full.
it's cute. Thumbs up! :-)

User avatar
Shendo
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 238
Joined: March 21st, 2012, 4:34 am
I am a: Programmer
Motto: Never settle
PlayStation Model: SCPH-9002
Location: Croatia, EU

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by Shendo » November 7th, 2013, 5:57 pm

More updates.

I used another, more suiting font and updated tileset and player sprite.

In older builds player was "jumping" from one grid position to another but i managed to create a smooth movement.
On the other hand crates are still "jumping" but I'll fix that.

I've also made a simple menu.
Still a lot to go but it's looking promising :D

Image Image
My PS1 consoles: 2 x SCPH-1002, SCPH-5552, SCPH-7002, 4x SCPH-9002, 2 x SCPH-102.
Dev console: SCPH-9002, MM3 - 7 wire modchip, PAL color mod, CH340 serial cable addon.

User avatar
t0rxe
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 140
Joined: December 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm
IRC: t0rxe
Motto: /\OX[]
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Location: Australia

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by t0rxe » November 7th, 2013, 6:41 pm

It's looking pretty good so far :P
"Nostalgia isn't a big enough word to describe the PlayStation from my eyes"

User avatar
Shendo
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 238
Joined: March 21st, 2012, 4:34 am
I am a: Programmer
Motto: Never settle
PlayStation Model: SCPH-9002
Location: Croatia, EU

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by Shendo » November 9th, 2013, 5:32 pm

Here is a video for you guys so you can see it in action, hehe.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQelHte7ipY

Do note that video is a bit too fast. I recorded using blade's gpu plugin.
My PS1 consoles: 2 x SCPH-1002, SCPH-5552, SCPH-7002, 4x SCPH-9002, 2 x SCPH-102.
Dev console: SCPH-9002, MM3 - 7 wire modchip, PAL color mod, CH340 serial cable addon.

User avatar
t0rxe
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 140
Joined: December 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm
IRC: t0rxe
Motto: /\OX[]
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Location: Australia

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by t0rxe » November 9th, 2013, 7:31 pm

Very nice. Clean graphics and smooth game play. Now it just needs audio. VB/VH would be good for the effects, where XA can be used as the background music.
"Nostalgia isn't a big enough word to describe the PlayStation from my eyes"

User avatar
Shendo
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 238
Joined: March 21st, 2012, 4:34 am
I am a: Programmer
Motto: Never settle
PlayStation Model: SCPH-9002
Location: Croatia, EU

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by Shendo » November 10th, 2013, 1:45 am

PSXSDK has a built-in modtracker capability so I'll be using it for playing background music.
I have already found a cool .mod which I can use. For effects I'm using .VAG files.

On another note, if anyone is interested in beta testing let me know.
It can be on a real hardware or various emulator, doesn't matter. And you'll end up in the credits :D
My PS1 consoles: 2 x SCPH-1002, SCPH-5552, SCPH-7002, 4x SCPH-9002, 2 x SCPH-102.
Dev console: SCPH-9002, MM3 - 7 wire modchip, PAL color mod, CH340 serial cable addon.

User avatar
Shendo
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 238
Joined: March 21st, 2012, 4:34 am
I am a: Programmer
Motto: Never settle
PlayStation Model: SCPH-9002
Location: Croatia, EU

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by Shendo » November 13th, 2013, 12:51 pm

Title screen:
Image

I've recently acquired a PS1 mouse (SCPH-1090) and I was thinking of adding support for it in the level editor.
My PS1 consoles: 2 x SCPH-1002, SCPH-5552, SCPH-7002, 4x SCPH-9002, 2 x SCPH-102.
Dev console: SCPH-9002, MM3 - 7 wire modchip, PAL color mod, CH340 serial cable addon.

User avatar
t0rxe
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 140
Joined: December 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm
IRC: t0rxe
Motto: /\OX[]
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Location: Australia

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by t0rxe » November 13th, 2013, 2:15 pm

Title screen looks good.
I also have a PS1 mouse (SCPH-1090) so I would be happy to test it for you.
"Nostalgia isn't a big enough word to describe the PlayStation from my eyes"

User avatar
Greg
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
Posts: 101
Joined: September 9th, 2013, 1:27 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7501
Location: Port-au-Prince, HAITI

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by Greg » November 14th, 2013, 5:42 pm

Hello Shendo, I am volunteer for beta testing, I have a SCPH-7501 and a SCPH-7001 both are NTSC
1 x SCPH-7501, 2 x SCPH-7001, 2 x SCPH-5501
1 x Pro Action Replay with "Dual Rom Mod", ROM 1: Caetla, ROM 2: UNIROM
1 x Xplorer V2 with Caetla
1 x GameShark V2.1
1 x GameShark Pro V3.0
1 x CommLinkUSB
1 x XLinkUSB

User avatar
Shendo
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 238
Joined: March 21st, 2012, 4:34 am
I am a: Programmer
Motto: Never settle
PlayStation Model: SCPH-9002
Location: Croatia, EU

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by Shendo » November 15th, 2013, 12:51 am

OK, I'll send you guys a PM with the build to test.
My PS1 consoles: 2 x SCPH-1002, SCPH-5552, SCPH-7002, 4x SCPH-9002, 2 x SCPH-102.
Dev console: SCPH-9002, MM3 - 7 wire modchip, PAL color mod, CH340 serial cable addon.

User avatar
t0rxe
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 140
Joined: December 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm
IRC: t0rxe
Motto: /\OX[]
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Location: Australia

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by t0rxe » November 15th, 2013, 5:40 pm

Thanks for letting me BETA test.

Here is my report list:
I would highly suggest adding in higher quality music. The players need to feel something new every time, and since there is approximately 650MB of data free on the disc, I would suggest filling it with lots of XA music.

Whilst in gameplay mode, pressing 'Start' brings up the menu to restart, quit, etc. You should be able to press 'Triangle' to close this window (I see 'Start' closes it, but it would be good to add both. The same goes for any other menus).

The first few levels are extremely difficult. I would suggest making them simple and building your way up. This will offer more levels, and less frustration from within the first few minutes.

The sprites and graphics in general are good, as well as the controls.
I did not find any bugs. I tested it on real hardware (SCPH-5502) and the pSX (PSXFIN) emulator.
"Nostalgia isn't a big enough word to describe the PlayStation from my eyes"

User avatar
Shendo
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 238
Joined: March 21st, 2012, 4:34 am
I am a: Programmer
Motto: Never settle
PlayStation Model: SCPH-9002
Location: Croatia, EU

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by Shendo » November 16th, 2013, 1:59 am

Thanks for the input.

The reason I used .mod music is because I'm uploading .EXEs to my PSone and the final EXE must not be over 1.8 MB.
But you are right, there is plenty of space on the CD so I'll switch to testing
on emulators and burning CDs for consoles.
Luckily my slim PS2 with the replacement laser reads CD/RWs without a problem so it will be my testing machine.

I was thinking of making music in "Music 2000" or if anyone wants to make music, be my guest :D

I added triangle as a back button for other menus but forgot for start menu, will fix.

Levels are from the original sokoban, but you are right.
I'll add 5 new easy training levels to ease the process of learning.

What do you think of the VHS rewind effect? Is it too much to have noise or should i just leave "REW" onscreen?
I was planning of adding tape rewind sound effect.
My PS1 consoles: 2 x SCPH-1002, SCPH-5552, SCPH-7002, 4x SCPH-9002, 2 x SCPH-102.
Dev console: SCPH-9002, MM3 - 7 wire modchip, PAL color mod, CH340 serial cable addon.

User avatar
t0rxe
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 140
Joined: December 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm
IRC: t0rxe
Motto: /\OX[]
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Location: Australia

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by t0rxe » November 16th, 2013, 2:38 pm

I would be up for trying to make some music in Music 2000. It would be better I reckon if you just went on YouTube though and searched for 'free music' or 'free video game music'. There are many great artists out there that provide free music :)

The VHS rewind effect it very cool. Leave it as it is. Yes, just add in the rewind sound effect.
"Nostalgia isn't a big enough word to describe the PlayStation from my eyes"

User avatar
Greg
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
Posts: 101
Joined: September 9th, 2013, 1:27 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7501
Location: Port-au-Prince, HAITI

Re: Sokoban for PS1

Post by Greg » November 17th, 2013, 10:27 pm

Hello Shendo,

Tested on real hardware (SCPH-7501 NTSC ) CD.

Good graphics, good control

Suggestion: A sound when the player pass the level, and maybe a state menu showing the number of move make for each level completed.

I agree with t0rxe, the VHS rewind effect it very cool.
1 x SCPH-7501, 2 x SCPH-7001, 2 x SCPH-5501
1 x Pro Action Replay with "Dual Rom Mod", ROM 1: Caetla, ROM 2: UNIROM
1 x Xplorer V2 with Caetla
1 x GameShark V2.1
1 x GameShark Pro V3.0
1 x CommLinkUSB
1 x XLinkUSB

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests