making a bootable Net Yaroze iso?

Miscellaneous Net Yaroze development related material
Post Reply
User avatar
gwald
Verified
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
Posts: 262
Joined: Sep 18, 2013
I am a: programmer/DBA
PlayStation Model: Net Yaroze
Location: Australia
Contact:

making a bootable Net Yaroze iso?

Post by gwald » January 22nd, 2016, 12:37 pm

Hi,
So master an iso is straight forward, but not with a net yaroze ecoff exe.

eco2exe and combine2 don't work because the exe start in different places and the emulator only starts in #100000, which is where the libps.exe is.

Obviously, the yaroze compilation cd's do this, I just haven't seen any source code.. anyone seen anything?

I got this far, i can get the iso and booting:
To make the iso:
http://opensourcepack.blogspot.co.il/p/cdrtools.html

To make it bootable:
viewtopic.php?f=60&t=448


Just don't know how to load the libps.exe and the siocons auto stuff.

User avatar
Shadow
Verified
Admin / PSXDEV
Admin / PSXDEV
Posts: 2583
Joined: Dec 31, 2012
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502
Discord: Shadow^PSXDEV

Post by Shadow » January 22nd, 2016, 3:20 pm

I thought your SYSTEM.CNF sheet points to your LIBPS.EXE file which then loads your Yaroze ECOFF file.
Send me your compiled binaries and I'll see if I can get it going in my spare time.
Development Console: SCPH-5502 with 8MB RAM, MM3 Modchip, PAL 60 Colour Modification (for NTSC), PSIO Switch Board, DB-9 breakout headers for both RGB and Serial output and an Xplorer with CAETLA 0.34.

PlayStation Development PC: Windows 98 SE, Pentium 3 at 400MHz, 128MB SDRAM, DTL-H2000, DTL-H2010, DTL-H201A, DTL-S2020 (with 4GB SCSI-2 HDD), 21" Sony G420, CD-R burner, 3.25" and 5.25" Floppy Diskette Drives, ZIP 100 Diskette Drive and an IBM Model M keyboard.

User avatar
gwald
Verified
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
Posts: 262
Joined: Sep 18, 2013
I am a: programmer/DBA
PlayStation Model: Net Yaroze
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by gwald » January 22nd, 2016, 3:34 pm

Shadow wrote:I thought your SYSTEM.CNF sheet points to your LIBPS.EXE file which then loads your Yaroze ECOFF file.
Send me your compiled binaries and I'll see if I can get it going in my spare time.
TMK, LIBPS.EXE is a DLL lib in ram, not executable.
The yaroze boot cd points to DTL_S30.35 (stack = 801fff00 ), I guess it loads the libps.exe libs into ram then runs MON.exe which handles the siocons stuff.
I can't remember the address, but i'm sure the rdb(remote debugger) HSS.EXE writes over it, requiring a reset.

Hey thanks man, cool!

Attached are the quick NY files and compiled and linked, the exe's are:
TUTO0 = "hello world" message to the TV screen
TUTO1 = "hello world" message to TTY

I was poking around the 80 NY collection iso (file: PSX_Net_Yaroze_(83_Games).rar - 35MB, I can't remember were I got it from), to see how they did it, but they're not ecoff, I imagine they come off the official PS mag, and someone must of recompiled the code into psx.exe's.
Actually a few of the NY games have src in them, ie:
CDROM:\DATA\CONTENTS\ADVEN.FPC
:shock: :clap :clap :clap
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Shadow
Verified
Admin / PSXDEV
Admin / PSXDEV
Posts: 2583
Joined: Dec 31, 2012
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502
Discord: Shadow^PSXDEV

Post by Shadow » January 22nd, 2016, 4:57 pm

1) COMBINE2.EXE batch0 batch0.exe
2) EXEFIXUP.EXE (yes, pad it to 2048 bytes)
3) BUILDCD.EXE -l -iBATCH0.IMG BATCH0.CTI (see the CTI sheet below)
4) STRIPISO.EXE S 2352 BATCH0.IMG BATCH0.ISO
5) PSXLICENSE.EXE /eu/ i BATCH0.ISO

BATCH0.CTI:

Code: Select all

Define LicensePath c:\cdgen\licenseDefine LicenseFile licensee.dat

Disc CDROMXA_PSX ;the disk format

	CatalogNumber 0000000000000

	LeadIn XA ;lead in track (track 0)
		Empty 300 ;defines the lead in size (min 150)
		PostGap 150 ;required gap at end of the lead in
	EndTrack ;end of the lead in track

	Track XA ;start of the XA (data) track

		Pause 150 ;required pause in first track after the lead in

		Volume ISO9660 ;define ISO 9660 volume
			
			SystemArea [LicensePath][LicenseFile]
			
			PrimaryVolume ;start point of primary volume
				SystemIdentifier "PLAYSTATION" ;required indetifier (do not change)
				VolumeIdentifier "BATCH0" ;app specific identifiers (changeable)
				VolumeSetIdentifier "BATCH0"
				PublisherIdentifier "SCEE"
				DataPreparerIdentifier "SONY"
				ApplicationIdentifier "PLAYSTATION"
				LPath ;path tables as specified for PlayStation
				OptionalLpath
				MPath
				OptionalMpath

				Hierarchy ;start point of root directory definition

					XAFileAttributes  Form1 Audio
					XAVideoAttributes ApplicationSpecific
					XAAudioAttributes ADPCM_C Stereo ;you can also add 'Emphasis_On' before Stereo

					File SYSTEM.CNF
						XAFileAttributes Form1 Data ;set the attribute to form 1
						Source C:\psyq\projects\yaroze\TUT0\TUT0\CDROM\SYSTEM.CNF
					EndFile

					File BATCH0.EXE
						XAFileAttributes Form1 Data
						Source C:\psyq\projects\yaroze\TUT0\TUT0\BATCH0.EXE
					EndFile

				EndHierarchy ;ends the root directory definition

			EndPrimaryVolume ;ends the primary volume definition 

		EndVolume ;ends the ISO 9660 definition

		Empty 300
		PostGap 150 ;required to change the track type
	
	EndTrack ;ends the track definition (end of the xa track)

	LeadOut XA ;note that the leadout track must be the same data type as the last track (IE: AUDIO, XA or MODE1)
		Empty 150
	EndTrack

EndDisc
By the way, FPC files arn't source code files.

Here you go:
BATCH0.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Development Console: SCPH-5502 with 8MB RAM, MM3 Modchip, PAL 60 Colour Modification (for NTSC), PSIO Switch Board, DB-9 breakout headers for both RGB and Serial output and an Xplorer with CAETLA 0.34.

PlayStation Development PC: Windows 98 SE, Pentium 3 at 400MHz, 128MB SDRAM, DTL-H2000, DTL-H2010, DTL-H201A, DTL-S2020 (with 4GB SCSI-2 HDD), 21" Sony G420, CD-R burner, 3.25" and 5.25" Floppy Diskette Drives, ZIP 100 Diskette Drive and an IBM Model M keyboard.

User avatar
gwald
Verified
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
Posts: 262
Joined: Sep 18, 2013
I am a: programmer/DBA
PlayStation Model: Net Yaroze
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by gwald » January 22nd, 2016, 5:53 pm

Very cool and Awesome! :mrgreen:
Many thanks Shadow!

Combine2 doesn't like the word local in the siocons script :evil:

They must haven't ran a strip on that file.. whatever it is lol
Looks like the complete code and siocons script to me :dance

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by gwald on January 28th, 2016, 10:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Greg
Verified
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
Posts: 101
Joined: Sep 09, 2013
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7501
Location: Port-au-Prince, HAITI

Post by Greg » January 22nd, 2016, 8:00 pm

Shadow wrote: ...
By the way, FPC files arn't source code files.
...
But they contain source files and resources files. Here attached a extractor and some info about FPC format.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
1 x SCPH-7501, 2 x SCPH-7001, 2 x SCPH-5501
1 x Pro Action Replay with "Dual Rom Mod", ROM 1: Caetla, ROM 2: UNIROM
1 x Xplorer V2 with Caetla
1 x GameShark V2.1
1 x GameShark Pro V3.0
1 x CommLinkUSB
1 x XLinkUSB

User avatar
Shadow
Verified
Admin / PSXDEV
Admin / PSXDEV
Posts: 2583
Joined: Dec 31, 2012
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502
Discord: Shadow^PSXDEV

Post by Shadow » January 22nd, 2016, 8:09 pm

Greg wrote:
Shadow wrote: ...
By the way, FPC files arn't source code files.
...
But they contain source files and resources files. Here attached a extractor and some info about FPC format.
Source files, as in, source code?
Why on earth would they include the source code inside when releasing a public demo??
I assume it's just for including it as an open source game???

I have an FPC unpack tool, but when I extracted (for example), HOVER.FPC, there was no source code inside. As far as I understand, it's just a compression system for the Yaroze, but for all the FPC files I've unpacked, there were no source files. Only compiled binaries without LIBPS.EXE included, which is why you need to use COMBINE2.EXE afterwards :)
Development Console: SCPH-5502 with 8MB RAM, MM3 Modchip, PAL 60 Colour Modification (for NTSC), PSIO Switch Board, DB-9 breakout headers for both RGB and Serial output and an Xplorer with CAETLA 0.34.

PlayStation Development PC: Windows 98 SE, Pentium 3 at 400MHz, 128MB SDRAM, DTL-H2000, DTL-H2010, DTL-H201A, DTL-S2020 (with 4GB SCSI-2 HDD), 21" Sony G420, CD-R burner, 3.25" and 5.25" Floppy Diskette Drives, ZIP 100 Diskette Drive and an IBM Model M keyboard.

User avatar
Greg
Verified
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
Posts: 101
Joined: Sep 09, 2013
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7501
Location: Port-au-Prince, HAITI

Post by Greg » January 22nd, 2016, 8:25 pm

Maybe adven.fpc is the exception. ;)
1 x SCPH-7501, 2 x SCPH-7001, 2 x SCPH-5501
1 x Pro Action Replay with "Dual Rom Mod", ROM 1: Caetla, ROM 2: UNIROM
1 x Xplorer V2 with Caetla
1 x GameShark V2.1
1 x GameShark Pro V3.0
1 x CommLinkUSB
1 x XLinkUSB

User avatar
Shadow
Verified
Admin / PSXDEV
Admin / PSXDEV
Posts: 2583
Joined: Dec 31, 2012
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502
Discord: Shadow^PSXDEV

Post by Shadow » January 22nd, 2016, 8:41 pm

Greg wrote:Maybe adven.fpc is the exception. ;)
Ah, that would make sense then :roll:
I thought 'gwald' was stating that FPC files *are* source code files :lol:
Development Console: SCPH-5502 with 8MB RAM, MM3 Modchip, PAL 60 Colour Modification (for NTSC), PSIO Switch Board, DB-9 breakout headers for both RGB and Serial output and an Xplorer with CAETLA 0.34.

PlayStation Development PC: Windows 98 SE, Pentium 3 at 400MHz, 128MB SDRAM, DTL-H2000, DTL-H2010, DTL-H201A, DTL-S2020 (with 4GB SCSI-2 HDD), 21" Sony G420, CD-R burner, 3.25" and 5.25" Floppy Diskette Drives, ZIP 100 Diskette Drive and an IBM Model M keyboard.

User avatar
gwald
Verified
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
Posts: 262
Joined: Sep 18, 2013
I am a: programmer/DBA
PlayStation Model: Net Yaroze
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by gwald » January 23rd, 2016, 12:14 am

Shadow wrote:
Greg wrote:Maybe adven.fpc is the exception. ;)
Ah, that would make sense then :roll:
I thought 'gwald' was stating that FPC files *are* source code files :lol:
No just that some had src... there's another two or three that included part or all the code... I think clone the alien fps is one which did.
No tool required... Just opened in notepad+ clear as day!
Yip very strange as most NY magazine releases weren't open sourced...

User avatar
gwald
Verified
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
Posts: 262
Joined: Sep 18, 2013
I am a: programmer/DBA
PlayStation Model: Net Yaroze
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by gwald » January 28th, 2016, 10:36 am

So I recompiled exefixup, so it just creates the files without prompting, so it's batchable... (see next few posts)
It works both in win32, not dosbox
Attached, with code.


I've contacted the site's admin for the source code:
COMBINE (by Barubary)
ECO2EXE (by Silpheed/Hitmen)
But he said he lost contact and he didn't get a copy. :cry:


Shadow, are the combine + exefixup psx.exe file executable on an emulator?
Last edited by gwald on January 29th, 2016, 12:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Shadow
Verified
Admin / PSXDEV
Admin / PSXDEV
Posts: 2583
Joined: Dec 31, 2012
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502
Discord: Shadow^PSXDEV

Post by Shadow » January 28th, 2016, 2:43 pm

gwald wrote:Shadow, are the combine + exefixup psx.exe file executable on an emulator?
Not sure. Give it a try :shrug
I used the EXE's listed above in my short tutorial on my Windows 98 PC.
Development Console: SCPH-5502 with 8MB RAM, MM3 Modchip, PAL 60 Colour Modification (for NTSC), PSIO Switch Board, DB-9 breakout headers for both RGB and Serial output and an Xplorer with CAETLA 0.34.

PlayStation Development PC: Windows 98 SE, Pentium 3 at 400MHz, 128MB SDRAM, DTL-H2000, DTL-H2010, DTL-H201A, DTL-S2020 (with 4GB SCSI-2 HDD), 21" Sony G420, CD-R burner, 3.25" and 5.25" Floppy Diskette Drives, ZIP 100 Diskette Drive and an IBM Model M keyboard.

User avatar
Greg
Verified
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
Posts: 101
Joined: Sep 09, 2013
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7501
Location: Port-au-Prince, HAITI

Post by Greg » January 28th, 2016, 3:05 pm

Here the source of eco2exe :
eco2exe_src.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
1 x SCPH-7501, 2 x SCPH-7001, 2 x SCPH-5501
1 x Pro Action Replay with "Dual Rom Mod", ROM 1: Caetla, ROM 2: UNIROM
1 x Xplorer V2 with Caetla
1 x GameShark V2.1
1 x GameShark Pro V3.0
1 x CommLinkUSB
1 x XLinkUSB

User avatar
gwald
Verified
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
Posts: 262
Joined: Sep 18, 2013
I am a: programmer/DBA
PlayStation Model: Net Yaroze
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by gwald » January 28th, 2016, 5:22 pm

Shadow wrote:
gwald wrote:Shadow, are the combine + exefixup psx.exe file executable on an emulator?
Not sure. Give it a try :shrug
I used the EXE's listed above in my short tutorial on my Windows 98 PC.
I extracted your batch0.exe and it does works fine.. so no iso required
Damn.. I've screwed up my dev. env. and now I can't get this to work again :(

Thanks heaps Greg, the code helped heaps, eco2exe creates a .exe file which i didn't notice before.
I don't think I used it tho :shrug

I've got two combine exe's and non work :crying

Left is combine (v2.20)
right is combine2 (v2.00)
Image

They run, the exe that it creates doesn't need exefixup on all the ones i've tested... ie on the quick.zip above.
I'm not sure if I have to convert the yaroze gcc exe using eco2exe first.. I did try but it still didn't work... not sure how I f*cked it this bad :shock:
I've tested this on linux dosbox also.. the same.

Also the combine2 has issues with "local"
Siocons expects:
local load tuto0

Fails saying ERROR: Address invalid!

combine1 creates the exe.. and it worked :mrgreen: :praise attached :praise
:dance :clap :dance
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
gwald
Verified
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
Posts: 262
Joined: Sep 18, 2013
I am a: programmer/DBA
PlayStation Model: Net Yaroze
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by gwald » January 29th, 2016, 12:37 am

I've recompile in exefixup so it just creates the fixed.exe when needed, it's in win98 and in winXP.
The filenames aren't great.. but hey.
Also a eco2exe in win98 (not changed) also include is the win32 exe not built by me.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
gwald
Verified
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
Posts: 262
Joined: Sep 18, 2013
I am a: programmer/DBA
PlayStation Model: Net Yaroze
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by gwald » January 29th, 2016, 11:14 pm

So I got it setup on code::blocks IDE.. found an old win32 build of the toolchain and it works.
Shame combine requires dosbox tho.
Still, it saves me turning on the hardware :roll:

My NY setup took me many hours :twisted:
PSYQ would have been done in minutes :lol:
Thanks Shadow, noCash, Greg and the rest of the PSXDEV guys who made the tools :)

Image
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest