Interested PSXDEV User
Interested PSXDEV User
I am a: Progammer
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7502
Discord: maltebp

Thesis about a PS1 Game Engine

Post by maltebp » February 23rd, 2024, 10:28 pm

Hello peeps!

My name is Malte, and I'm pretty new around here, so I thought I'd say "hi" and talk a bit about what I'm up to :)

The short version
I'm doing a basic game engine/framework for the PlayStation 1 for my final Master's thesis.

The (very) long version
I'm taking a Master's degree in Games Tech, and atm I'm doing my thesis. I want to be an engine programmer, so I thought I'd do something related for my thesis. Honestly, I just wanted to program an engine, but a thesis requires some kind "research". So I ended up deciding to try and create and test the viability of general-purpose 3D game engine for the PlayStation 1.

I'm planning on testing the viability by measuring the performance of the engine, but in pretty bad way... You see, because "hardware hacking" (e.g. modchips) is a bit of a legally grey area where I'm from, my supervisor won't approve the use of it for the thesis (formally, at least). So the "research question" is instead going to be answered by testing the performance in an emulator. Yes, I know this is super inaccurate, but as long supervisor approves it I can get to tinker with my engine. Also, it still gives some notion of the capabilities (can the engine handle 1 million game objects or 1000).

I have no prior experience with PlayStation development, and only a bit of experience with really low-level programming (assembly) and hardware, so this has obviously taken some getting used to. Already spent my fair share (at least more than I anticipated) trying to understand the hardware and low-level stuff. I do however, have some experience in game and game engine development, so I hope it will be "easier" once I get the basics down and start moving into my own "turf".

Status