Mantain the original CLUT on TIM & Work on Gimp!

Graphic based area of development (Graphics Processing Unit), including the Geometry Transform Engine (GTE), TIM, STR (MDEC), etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
~PSXLoVeR95~
Active PSXDEV User
Active PSXDEV User
Posts: 45
Joined: September 18th, 2016, 1:32 am

Mantain the original CLUT on TIM & Work on Gimp!

Post by ~PSXLoVeR95~ » April 25th, 2017, 12:22 am

Hello guys. Hope everything is fine :) ...
We are working on PS game translation using GIMP. Some of these TIMs use the alpha channel and some are already indexed!
My procedure is :
1) Open a tim--->extract bmp with TimViewer
2) Modify the bmp
3) Transform on indexed mode (16 palette)
4) Save the bmp and convert on .TIM

Everything looks OK...even the size of the .TIM
But, we have a couple of problem about this format...

1) It's possibile to mantain the original .TIM's CLUT?

Because, after i working with GIMP it modifies the CLUT using this kind of colorset. Check it out :
Image
original TIM

Image
modified TIM


The other problem is...
2) How a font looks good on indexed mode?
Some .TIM, can't be edited with a font because sucks so badly. They are sgarnished and pixeled.
Here's an example :
aircraft.bmp
(566 Bytes) Downloaded 14 times
original
aircraft2.bmp
(566 Bytes) Downloaded 14 times
modified


Thanks a lot!
~ My PS Collection ~
2 x SCPH-1000
13 x SCPH-1002
1 x SCPH-1001
1 x SCPH-5000
1 x SCPH-5500
4 x SCPH-5502
2 x SCPH-7000
1 x SCPH-7002
1 x SCPH-7500
5 x SCPH-7502
1 x SCPH-9000
1 x SCPH-102

>>IT'S A SONY

User avatar
gwald
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
Posts: 256
Joined: September 18th, 2013, 8:44 am
I am a: programmer/DBA
PlayStation Model: Net Yaroze
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Mantain the original CLUT on TIM & Work on Gimp!

Post by gwald » April 25th, 2017, 10:56 am

Make sure your using the colours from the colour pallet and not using tools which create new colours.

I'm doing some work on CLUT swapping sprites (a crappy doom trace).
I use gimp, it has good CLUT features, ie arranging/modding etc.
I export out as PCX, then I convert to tim using https://github.com/Lameguy64/img2tim/

I have a time lapse video and with more info in the comments.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VdCT-NmRz1Q 1
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I9bWfJ78F8E 2
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8enBtOZETiw (timtool)

2) How a font looks good on indexed mode?
Use higher a res and 8bit colour? :lol:

User avatar
~PSXLoVeR95~
Active PSXDEV User
Active PSXDEV User
Posts: 45
Joined: September 18th, 2016, 1:32 am

Re: Mantain the original CLUT on TIM & Work on Gimp!

Post by ~PSXLoVeR95~ » April 29th, 2017, 12:23 am

Hi Gwald, thanks a lot for your response :D !
I've fixed the problem. Photoshop is mantain the same TIM's CLUT and have more functionality of Gimp. It's awesome and works very nice :).
For the font some issues remains...but, hope to find a solution ASAP!

P.S I see your videos! Please, keep going with your project :D!
Have a nice day, pal!
~ My PS Collection ~
2 x SCPH-1000
13 x SCPH-1002
1 x SCPH-1001
1 x SCPH-5000
1 x SCPH-5500
4 x SCPH-5502
2 x SCPH-7000
1 x SCPH-7002
1 x SCPH-7500
5 x SCPH-7502
1 x SCPH-9000
1 x SCPH-102

>>IT'S A SONY

User avatar
MrQuetch
Curious PSXDEV User
Curious PSXDEV User
Posts: 23
Joined: April 1st, 2018, 9:34 am
Motto: You can accomplish anything.
Looking to: Create professional homebrew.
Location: United States

Re: Mantain the original CLUT on TIM & Work on Gimp!

Post by MrQuetch » April 3rd, 2018, 4:13 am

gwald wrote:
April 25th, 2017, 10:56 am
Make sure your using the colours from the colour pallet and not using tools which create new colours.

I'm doing some work on CLUT swapping sprites (a crappy doom trace).
I use gimp, it has good CLUT features, ie arranging/modding etc.
I export out as PCX, then I convert to tim using https://github.com/Lameguy64/img2tim/

I have a time lapse video and with more info in the comments.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VdCT-NmRz1Q 1
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I9bWfJ78F8E 2
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8enBtOZETiw (timtool)

2) How a font looks good on indexed mode?
Use higher a res and 8bit colour? :lol:
Hi, gwald.

I use Photoshop, and the colors and pallet come through fine for TIMTOOL.

I know this post is a bit older, but I'm learning how to use the TIMTOOL, and your video is too fast for me to tell what's going on. I understand that we are able to open up our images and pallets, and move them around. But, once we are finished with all of our sheets, and save the project; what do we do next? Do we add the "tim project" to our source project? Does the *.tim file that is used in the TIMTOOL get it's properties saved to the *.tim file? I'm still confused, and am trying to resolve the problems.

Thanks.

Edit: I resolved my problem. I had the images in the yellow and green squares instead of the blue squares.

User avatar
gwald
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
Posts: 256
Joined: September 18th, 2013, 8:44 am
I am a: programmer/DBA
PlayStation Model: Net Yaroze
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Mantain the original CLUT on TIM & Work on Gimp!

Post by gwald » June 18th, 2018, 12:10 pm

Yeah, TIMTOOL is great fun :crying
Simple tool, takes a while to figure out how to use it well tho.. someone should make a game out if tho :lol: :dance
Glad you figured it out!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest