Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Graphic based area of development (Graphics Processing Unit), including the Geometry Transform Engine (GTE), TIM, STR (MDEC), etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
~PSXLoVeR95~
Active PSXDEV User
Active PSXDEV User
Posts: 45
Joined: September 18th, 2016, 1:32 am

Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by ~PSXLoVeR95~ » November 6th, 2016, 9:02 am

Hi guys :-)!
I have .TIM extracted from Ace Combat 3 JAP ver, and have two sets. But i have a problem, how can i extracts both sets and insert it again?
Here's my example :
Image
Image

What i want to do is :
-Extracts all the set on .bmp (also in .png is good)
-Insert the edited images on the .TIM again.

I've tried with TIM2VIEW but it always replace the 1st set. It's a very important project for my translation, guys :)
So thank you in advance !
Have a nice day.
Attachments
SET2.JPG
(36.16 KiB) Downloaded 89 times
SET1.JPG
(33.87 KiB) Downloaded 89 times
~ My PS Collection ~
2 x SCPH-1000
13 x SCPH-1002
1 x SCPH-1001
1 x SCPH-5000
1 x SCPH-5500
4 x SCPH-5502
2 x SCPH-7000
1 x SCPH-7002
1 x SCPH-7500
5 x SCPH-7502
1 x SCPH-9000
1 x SCPH-102

>>IT'S A SONY

User avatar
Greg
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
Posts: 100
Joined: September 9th, 2013, 1:27 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7501
Location: Port-au-Prince, HAITI

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by Greg » November 8th, 2016, 1:28 pm

What version of TIM2VIEW do you use?
1 x SCPH-7501, 2 x SCPH-7001, 2 x SCPH-5501
1 x Pro Action Replay with "Dual Rom Mod", ROM 1: Caetla, ROM 2: UNIROM
1 x Xplorer V2 with Caetla
1 x GameShark V2.1
1 x GameShark Pro V3.0
1 x CommLinkUSB
1 x XLinkUSB

User avatar
~PSXLoVeR95~
Active PSXDEV User
Active PSXDEV User
Posts: 45
Joined: September 18th, 2016, 1:32 am

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by ~PSXLoVeR95~ » November 9th, 2016, 8:59 am

Hi Greg, thank you for the answer :).
I'm actually using Tim2View r89. It's possibile to replace a BMP as a set of a .TIM?
For example :
I've the extracted the 1st set on BMP, after editing, i want to replace that set with mine.
~ My PS Collection ~
2 x SCPH-1000
13 x SCPH-1002
1 x SCPH-1001
1 x SCPH-5000
1 x SCPH-5500
4 x SCPH-5502
2 x SCPH-7000
1 x SCPH-7002
1 x SCPH-7500
5 x SCPH-7502
1 x SCPH-9000
1 x SCPH-102

>>IT'S A SONY

User avatar
Greg
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
Posts: 100
Joined: September 9th, 2013, 1:27 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7501
Location: Port-au-Prince, HAITI

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by Greg » November 9th, 2016, 2:23 pm

You need to convert BMP to TIM first. You can use TIMUTIL.EXE or LameGuy64's "img2tim - Image to TIM conversion tool" to do the conversion.
1 x SCPH-7501, 2 x SCPH-7001, 2 x SCPH-5501
1 x Pro Action Replay with "Dual Rom Mod", ROM 1: Caetla, ROM 2: UNIROM
1 x Xplorer V2 with Caetla
1 x GameShark V2.1
1 x GameShark Pro V3.0
1 x CommLinkUSB
1 x XLinkUSB

User avatar
~PSXLoVeR95~
Active PSXDEV User
Active PSXDEV User
Posts: 45
Joined: September 18th, 2016, 1:32 am

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by ~PSXLoVeR95~ » November 9th, 2016, 10:06 pm

Hi again Greg.
img2tim is pretty damn handy, awesome tool :).
Now the problem is to join the the two .TIM and i think we done ^^!
~ My PS Collection ~
2 x SCPH-1000
13 x SCPH-1002
1 x SCPH-1001
1 x SCPH-5000
1 x SCPH-5500
4 x SCPH-5502
2 x SCPH-7000
1 x SCPH-7002
1 x SCPH-7500
5 x SCPH-7502
1 x SCPH-9000
1 x SCPH-102

>>IT'S A SONY

User avatar
LameGuy64
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 349
Joined: April 10th, 2013, 3:47 pm
I am a: Hobbyist Game Developer
Motto: Commercial or not, play it!
PlayStation Model: H2000/7000
Skype: lameguy64
Location: Philippines

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by LameGuy64 » November 9th, 2016, 11:50 pm

I have not seen a TIM file containing multiple TIM files before. In fact, the official documentation of the TIM file format shows no support for more than 1 texture entry.

I think they just appended 1 TIM file on top of another which you can try by performing copy /b tim1.tim+tim2.tim output.tim. If that doesn't work, send me the original TIM file for me to analyze.
Please don't forget to include my name if you share my work around. Credit where it is due.

Dev. Console: SCPH-7000 with SCPH-7501 ROM, MM3, PAL color fix, Direct AV ports, DB-9 port for Serial I/O, and a Xplorer FX with Caetla 0.35.

DTL-H2000 PC: Dell Optiplex GX110, Windows 98SE & Windows XP, Pentium III 933MHz, 384MB SDRAM, ATI Radeon 7000 VE 64MB, Soundblaster Audigy, 40GB Seagate HDD, Hitachi Lite-on CD-RW Drive, ZIP 250 and 3.5" Floppy.

User avatar
~PSXLoVeR95~
Active PSXDEV User
Active PSXDEV User
Posts: 45
Joined: September 18th, 2016, 1:32 am

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by ~PSXLoVeR95~ » November 10th, 2016, 1:43 am

Hi LameGuy64!
Thank you so much for this program, it's very easy to use. I've try to join the two .TIM with your syntax but nothing is happened. It says always "Error file not found".
Probably is my fault but i'm not sure. So, okay, i send you the original files (not touched - extracted on the game) and splitted files.
PM sended, and, thank you again for the help!
~ My PS Collection ~
2 x SCPH-1000
13 x SCPH-1002
1 x SCPH-1001
1 x SCPH-5000
1 x SCPH-5500
4 x SCPH-5502
2 x SCPH-7000
1 x SCPH-7002
1 x SCPH-7500
5 x SCPH-7502
1 x SCPH-9000
1 x SCPH-102

>>IT'S A SONY

User avatar
Greg
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
Posts: 100
Joined: September 9th, 2013, 1:27 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7501
Location: Port-au-Prince, HAITI

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by Greg » November 10th, 2016, 5:36 pm

@ ~PSXLoVeR95~
your file contain 1 image but 2 CLUT. the font use only 4 colors, when the palette is swap the image change.
1 x SCPH-7501, 2 x SCPH-7001, 2 x SCPH-5501
1 x Pro Action Replay with "Dual Rom Mod", ROM 1: Caetla, ROM 2: UNIROM
1 x Xplorer V2 with Caetla
1 x GameShark V2.1
1 x GameShark Pro V3.0
1 x CommLinkUSB
1 x XLinkUSB

User avatar
~PSXLoVeR95~
Active PSXDEV User
Active PSXDEV User
Posts: 45
Joined: September 18th, 2016, 1:32 am

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by ~PSXLoVeR95~ » November 10th, 2016, 10:19 pm

Hi Greg :)
Yes,i know and i really don't know how to insert my work on it. There is a procedure to edit these type of .TIM ?
Thanks :)
~ My PS Collection ~
2 x SCPH-1000
13 x SCPH-1002
1 x SCPH-1001
1 x SCPH-5000
1 x SCPH-5500
4 x SCPH-5502
2 x SCPH-7000
1 x SCPH-7002
1 x SCPH-7500
5 x SCPH-7502
1 x SCPH-9000
1 x SCPH-102

>>IT'S A SONY

User avatar
LameGuy64
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 349
Joined: April 10th, 2013, 3:47 pm
I am a: Hobbyist Game Developer
Motto: Commercial or not, play it!
PlayStation Model: H2000/7000
Skype: lameguy64
Location: Philippines

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by LameGuy64 » November 11th, 2016, 2:00 pm

The TIM file you've sent appears to be just a regular TIM file but with 2 16-color CLUTs (or palettes) instead of 1. The easiest way to add a second CLUT is through the sprite editing tool included with the Graphic Artist Tools CD used by PlayStation developers but we don't have a CD image of it yet.

I could write a tool for managing CLUTs but I'm very busy with school stuff at the moment.
Please don't forget to include my name if you share my work around. Credit where it is due.

Dev. Console: SCPH-7000 with SCPH-7501 ROM, MM3, PAL color fix, Direct AV ports, DB-9 port for Serial I/O, and a Xplorer FX with Caetla 0.35.

DTL-H2000 PC: Dell Optiplex GX110, Windows 98SE & Windows XP, Pentium III 933MHz, 384MB SDRAM, ATI Radeon 7000 VE 64MB, Soundblaster Audigy, 40GB Seagate HDD, Hitachi Lite-on CD-RW Drive, ZIP 250 and 3.5" Floppy.

User avatar
~PSXLoVeR95~
Active PSXDEV User
Active PSXDEV User
Posts: 45
Joined: September 18th, 2016, 1:32 am

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by ~PSXLoVeR95~ » November 12th, 2016, 4:56 am

Hi Lameguy , don't worry, do it with calm if you want.
Really an enormous THANK YOU for your help. I appreciated that :)...
If I find a solution, I write on the topic!
Have a nice day, guys :D!
~ My PS Collection ~
2 x SCPH-1000
13 x SCPH-1002
1 x SCPH-1001
1 x SCPH-5000
1 x SCPH-5500
4 x SCPH-5502
2 x SCPH-7000
1 x SCPH-7002
1 x SCPH-7500
5 x SCPH-7502
1 x SCPH-9000
1 x SCPH-102

>>IT'S A SONY

User avatar
Greg
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
Posts: 100
Joined: September 9th, 2013, 1:27 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7501
Location: Port-au-Prince, HAITI

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by Greg » November 13th, 2016, 6:29 pm

@ ~PSXLoVeR95~

I made a app that do the work. MergeTim.exe

Usage: MergeTim Tim1 Tim2 <number of color> <output Tim>
Tim1 - Tim file 1
Tim2 - Tim file 2
<number of color> - Total color, min 2 max 16
<output Tim> - ouput filename for merged Tim

Tim1 and Tim2 must have the same resolution, and same palette. Total color is mandatory, it's the number of color actually use by the tim file you want to merge.

Good luck.
Attachments
MergeTim.rar
(25.87 KiB) Downloaded 170 times
1 x SCPH-7501, 2 x SCPH-7001, 2 x SCPH-5501
1 x Pro Action Replay with "Dual Rom Mod", ROM 1: Caetla, ROM 2: UNIROM
1 x Xplorer V2 with Caetla
1 x GameShark V2.1
1 x GameShark Pro V3.0
1 x CommLinkUSB
1 x XLinkUSB

User avatar
~PSXLoVeR95~
Active PSXDEV User
Active PSXDEV User
Posts: 45
Joined: September 18th, 2016, 1:32 am

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by ~PSXLoVeR95~ » November 14th, 2016, 1:36 pm

Wow Greg, thanks a lot for the program :)!!!
It works but i've two important problem :
1) I create the double-clut tim with your sample (precisly with the files set1.tim and set2.tim). After this procedure, i've checked with Tim2view and the resolution of the VRAM (X/Y) are 0x0 for both side.
Image

2) I can't create the .TIM with your exactly palette combination.
Image

Image

My procedures to split a double-CLUT .TIM are this :
- Open a double-CLUT .TIM with timviewer.exe and save the single set on .bmp
- Edit the single .bmp with a program called AC3_Text_Editor (created by dashman)
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Dashm ... shadow.jar
- After i've created the edited bmp, i used the img2tim of lameguy to create two single .TIM and join with your mergetim.
Hope is a good procedure. Thanks again guys for your support! :)
Attachments
3.JPG
(22.02 KiB) Downloaded 89 times
2.JPG
(24.59 KiB) Downloaded 89 times
1.JPG
(38.09 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
~ My PS Collection ~
2 x SCPH-1000
13 x SCPH-1002
1 x SCPH-1001
1 x SCPH-5000
1 x SCPH-5500
4 x SCPH-5502
2 x SCPH-7000
1 x SCPH-7002
1 x SCPH-7500
5 x SCPH-7502
1 x SCPH-9000
1 x SCPH-102

>>IT'S A SONY

User avatar
Greg
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
Posts: 100
Joined: September 9th, 2013, 1:27 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7501
Location: Port-au-Prince, HAITI

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by Greg » November 14th, 2016, 5:17 pm

I found what happened, the bmp files from AC3_Text_Editor when use gray as text color, generate a picture that use 4 colors, but start from entry palette #1 instead of entry palette 0. to fix that you have to move all the palette 1 step to left with a paint program.

here 2 bmp files with correct palette.
Attachments
BMPs.rar
(1.36 KiB) Downloaded 174 times
1 x SCPH-7501, 2 x SCPH-7001, 2 x SCPH-5501
1 x Pro Action Replay with "Dual Rom Mod", ROM 1: Caetla, ROM 2: UNIROM
1 x Xplorer V2 with Caetla
1 x GameShark V2.1
1 x GameShark Pro V3.0
1 x CommLinkUSB
1 x XLinkUSB

User avatar
~PSXLoVeR95~
Active PSXDEV User
Active PSXDEV User
Posts: 45
Joined: September 18th, 2016, 1:32 am

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by ~PSXLoVeR95~ » November 15th, 2016, 4:14 am

.....IT WORKS!!!
PSOGL2_007.jpg
(120.54 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
PSOGL2_008.jpg
(104.14 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
Greg....you save my translation project. It's awesome :D!
~ My PS Collection ~
2 x SCPH-1000
13 x SCPH-1002
1 x SCPH-1001
1 x SCPH-5000
1 x SCPH-5500
4 x SCPH-5502
2 x SCPH-7000
1 x SCPH-7002
1 x SCPH-7500
5 x SCPH-7502
1 x SCPH-9000
1 x SCPH-102

>>IT'S A SONY

User avatar
Greg
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
Posts: 100
Joined: September 9th, 2013, 1:27 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7501
Location: Port-au-Prince, HAITI

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by Greg » November 15th, 2016, 9:20 am

:D You are welcome.

Change log for MergeTim.exe

ver. 0.01
- VRAM (X/Y) info from file 1 are use in merged file.
- Show info from file 1.

ver. 0.00
- First release.
Attachments
MergeTim_0.01.rar
MergeTim Ver. 0.01
(23.56 KiB) Downloaded 172 times
1 x SCPH-7501, 2 x SCPH-7001, 2 x SCPH-5501
1 x Pro Action Replay with "Dual Rom Mod", ROM 1: Caetla, ROM 2: UNIROM
1 x Xplorer V2 with Caetla
1 x GameShark V2.1
1 x GameShark Pro V3.0
1 x CommLinkUSB
1 x XLinkUSB

User avatar
~PSXLoVeR95~
Active PSXDEV User
Active PSXDEV User
Posts: 45
Joined: September 18th, 2016, 1:32 am

Re: Work on a .TIM with 2 set

Post by ~PSXLoVeR95~ » November 15th, 2016, 8:26 pm

Now is PERFECT!!!
It creates perfectly the .TIM with the original resolution.
You're awesome, man. I can't thank you enough, seriously!
~ My PS Collection ~
2 x SCPH-1000
13 x SCPH-1002
1 x SCPH-1001
1 x SCPH-5000
1 x SCPH-5500
4 x SCPH-5502
2 x SCPH-7000
1 x SCPH-7002
1 x SCPH-7500
5 x SCPH-7502
1 x SCPH-9000
1 x SCPH-102

>>IT'S A SONY

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest