What's the DB25 port on a Gameshark/Action Replay for?

General information to do with the PlayStation 1 Hardware. Including modchips, pinouts, rare or obscure development equipment, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
LameGuy64
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 222
Joined: April 10th, 2013, 3:47 pm
I am a: Hobbyist Game Developer
Motto: Commercial or not, play it!
PlayStation Model: H2000/7000
Skype: lameguy64
Location: Philippines

What's the DB25 port on a Gameshark/Action Replay for?

Post by LameGuy64 » April 23rd, 2013, 10:23 am

When you look at the back of a Gameshark or Action Replay cartridge, you'll find a male DB25 connector which I'm not sure what its used for. I think it connects to the PC's parallel port or connects to some rare PC expansion card.
PSXSDK is for scrubs, PsyQ all the way!
One of the few competently skilled PSX homebrew developers in PSXDEV.

Dev. Console: SCPH-7000 with SCPH-7501 ROM, MM3, PAL color fix, Direct AV ports, DB-9 port for Serial I/O, and a Xplorer FX with Caetla 0.35.

DTL-H2000 PC: Dell Optiplex GX110, Windows 98SE & Windows 2000, Pentium III 933MHz, 256MB SDRAM, S3 Savage 4 32MB, Soundblaster Audigy, 3Com 10/100Mbit LAN (onboard), 40GB Seagate HDD, Hitachi Lite-on CD-RW Drive, ZIP 250 and 3.5" Floppy.

User avatar
t0rxe
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 140
Joined: December 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm
IRC: t0rxe
Motto: /\OX[]
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Location: Australia

Re: What's the DB25 port on a Gameshark/Action Replay for?

Post by t0rxe » April 23rd, 2013, 3:43 pm

It was used as a communications link to a special ISA card so you could edit and dump the PSX's RAM in real-time, and upload/download new cheats to and from the device. Only the Xplorer models can be used directly to the PC over SPP parallel without the need of the ISA Comms Link card.

Image
"Nostalgia isn't a big enough word to describe the PlayStation from my eyes"

User avatar
inc^lightforce
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 145
Joined: March 7th, 2013, 7:34 am
I am a: Programmer, Artist, Gamer
PlayStation Model: Black
Skype: a5recordings
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: What's the DB25 port on a Gameshark/Action Replay for?

Post by inc^lightforce » April 23rd, 2013, 5:05 pm

and don't forget to set the correct Jumper on the ISA Comm Card. Works also with ActionReplay
i have a complete DEVELOPMENT PC with Commcard and Co. It's a very nice working. But you need all the Hardware Stuff:
~TV
~Win 98 PC
~Mainboard with ISA Slot
~Parallel Cable
~PS1
~AR
and so on.
my coding page/ forum at:
http://aftermath-creations.net/

Gradius
Extreme PSXDEV User
Extreme PSXDEV User
Posts: 219
Joined: September 9th, 2012, 3:01 pm
I am a: IT Consultant, Systems Integrator
PlayStation Model: 7501
Location: Chile

Re: What's the DB25 port on a Gameshark/Action Replay for?

Post by Gradius » April 23rd, 2013, 5:26 pm

I got a PCIe Parallel Port. :dance

User avatar
inc^lightforce
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 145
Joined: March 7th, 2013, 7:34 am
I am a: Programmer, Artist, Gamer
PlayStation Model: Black
Skype: a5recordings
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: What's the DB25 port on a Gameshark/Action Replay for?

Post by inc^lightforce » April 23rd, 2013, 5:38 pm

can you make a snapshot? will see ! :shock:
my coding page/ forum at:
http://aftermath-creations.net/

User avatar
LameGuy64
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 222
Joined: April 10th, 2013, 3:47 pm
I am a: Hobbyist Game Developer
Motto: Commercial or not, play it!
PlayStation Model: H2000/7000
Skype: lameguy64
Location: Philippines

Re: What's the DB25 port on a Gameshark/Action Replay for?

Post by LameGuy64 » April 23rd, 2013, 10:50 pm

My profile picture (as of the time this was posted) pretty much explains my reaction about it...Its just that stuff like that don't exist in my rubbish nation that's why. I'll just stick with emulators as you don't have to burn a disc for every single build.

I've heard of circuits to build a clone of the PC Comms Link card yourself albeit the transfer rate is slow as hell. I never managed to find one as their linked to long dead websites or freakin' stupid non-English sites (curse you foreign languages!).
PSXSDK is for scrubs, PsyQ all the way!
One of the few competently skilled PSX homebrew developers in PSXDEV.

Dev. Console: SCPH-7000 with SCPH-7501 ROM, MM3, PAL color fix, Direct AV ports, DB-9 port for Serial I/O, and a Xplorer FX with Caetla 0.35.

DTL-H2000 PC: Dell Optiplex GX110, Windows 98SE & Windows 2000, Pentium III 933MHz, 256MB SDRAM, S3 Savage 4 32MB, Soundblaster Audigy, 3Com 10/100Mbit LAN (onboard), 40GB Seagate HDD, Hitachi Lite-on CD-RW Drive, ZIP 250 and 3.5" Floppy.

User avatar
inc^lightforce
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 145
Joined: March 7th, 2013, 7:34 am
I am a: Programmer, Artist, Gamer
PlayStation Model: Black
Skype: a5recordings
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: What's the DB25 port on a Gameshark/Action Replay for?

Post by inc^lightforce » April 24th, 2013, 2:42 am

if you really NEED a comm card i can dispatch you 1 piece. I have one in stock.

cheers
my coding page/ forum at:
http://aftermath-creations.net/

User avatar
LameGuy64
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 222
Joined: April 10th, 2013, 3:47 pm
I am a: Hobbyist Game Developer
Motto: Commercial or not, play it!
PlayStation Model: H2000/7000
Skype: lameguy64
Location: Philippines

Re: What's the DB25 port on a Gameshark/Action Replay for?

Post by LameGuy64 » April 24th, 2013, 10:51 am

inc^lightforce wrote:if you really NEED a comm card i can dispatch you 1 piece. I have one in stock.

cheers
Thanks but no thanks...I can't receive stuff outside my nation practically which is a stinker. I'll only need it when I'm experienced enough to meddle with the PlayStation.
PSXSDK is for scrubs, PsyQ all the way!
One of the few competently skilled PSX homebrew developers in PSXDEV.

Dev. Console: SCPH-7000 with SCPH-7501 ROM, MM3, PAL color fix, Direct AV ports, DB-9 port for Serial I/O, and a Xplorer FX with Caetla 0.35.

DTL-H2000 PC: Dell Optiplex GX110, Windows 98SE & Windows 2000, Pentium III 933MHz, 256MB SDRAM, S3 Savage 4 32MB, Soundblaster Audigy, 3Com 10/100Mbit LAN (onboard), 40GB Seagate HDD, Hitachi Lite-on CD-RW Drive, ZIP 250 and 3.5" Floppy.

Gradius
Extreme PSXDEV User
Extreme PSXDEV User
Posts: 219
Joined: September 9th, 2012, 3:01 pm
I am a: IT Consultant, Systems Integrator
PlayStation Model: 7501
Location: Chile

Re: What's the DB25 port on a Gameshark/Action Replay for?

Post by Gradius » April 24th, 2013, 12:39 pm

inc^lightforce wrote:can you make a snapshot? will see ! :shock:
Is already installed on my PC, is just like this one:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Add-Printer-Par ... 1e79c2317c

Brand new, not refurbished.

Less than $12 bucks:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Parallel-Port-D ... 27cfb9b254

User avatar
t0rxe
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 140
Joined: December 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm
IRC: t0rxe
Motto: /\OX[]
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Location: Australia

Re: What's the DB25 port on a Gameshark/Action Replay for?

Post by t0rxe » April 24th, 2013, 4:27 pm

I have tried a PCI to Parallel card, and they absolutely suck. It is such a nightmare trying to get it to work. That's why they are developing the PSX Blaster :)
"Nostalgia isn't a big enough word to describe the PlayStation from my eyes"

User avatar
bizarro2011
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
Posts: 118
Joined: March 27th, 2012, 9:09 pm
Skype: abernardo2011
Location: Brazil

Re: What's the DB25 port on a Gameshark/Action Replay for?

Post by bizarro2011 » April 24th, 2013, 11:25 pm

some program is working?
Let's talk about the programs in construction, tips sujestao,
I'm redoing the program Arkanoid. under construction.

Image

look the video
http://youtu.be/TngcYtuWwzA

User avatar
inc^lightforce
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 145
Joined: March 7th, 2013, 7:34 am
I am a: Programmer, Artist, Gamer
PlayStation Model: Black
Skype: a5recordings
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: What's the DB25 port on a Gameshark/Action Replay for?

Post by inc^lightforce » April 24th, 2013, 11:50 pm

which problem do you had?
do you switched the correct Port and have it set in the batch? you had 2 Options:
P1 or P2. depends on which one you have selected.
Image
if you haven't, it won't work

see setting here :
psexe -p1<----- this is the Port main.exe

this line send the compiled PS1 exe to Playstation, given that you have the correct Parallel Cabel.

t0rXe wrote:I have tried a PCI to Parallel card, and they absolutely suck. It is such a nightmare trying to get it to work. That's why they are developing the PSX Blaster :)
my coding page/ forum at:
http://aftermath-creations.net/

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest