Making a PlayStation Link cable

Post a topic about yourself to let others know your skills, hobbies, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
KDan
Curious PSXDEV User
Curious PSXDEV User
Posts: 10
Joined: January 30th, 2018, 6:48 am
I am a: Noob xD
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7502
Location: Czech Republic

Making a PlayStation Link cable

Post by KDan » December 7th, 2018, 3:54 am

Hi! I just wanted to make my own link cable but I couldn't find any pinouts for it. Do I have to swap only RX and TX?

User avatar
LameGuy64
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 300
Joined: April 10th, 2013, 3:47 pm
I am a: Hobbyist Game Developer
Motto: Commercial or not, play it!
PlayStation Model: H2000/7000
Skype: lameguy64
Location: Philippines

Re: Making a PlayStation Link cable

Post by LameGuy64 » December 7th, 2018, 1:28 pm

You can find the pinout right here:
http://hitmen.c02.at/html/psx_siocable.html

I built my own link cable by using the same wiring as a standard null modem cable but adjusted to go in line with the PlayStation's serial pinout. Handshake lines must be wired accordingly in case of games that use handshaking.

If you don't mind modding a pair of consoles replacing the proprietary Serial I/O port with a DB9 would make creating cables much easier.
Please don't forget to include my name if you share my work around. Credit where it is due.

Dev. Console: SCPH-7000 with SCPH-7501 ROM, MM3, PAL color fix, Direct AV ports, DB-9 port for Serial I/O, and a Xplorer FX with Caetla 0.35.

DTL-H2000 PC: Dell Optiplex GX110, Windows 98SE & Windows XP, Pentium III 933MHz, 384MB SDRAM, ATI Radeon 7000 VE 64MB, Soundblaster Audigy, 40GB Seagate HDD, Hitachi Lite-on CD-RW Drive, ZIP 250 and 3.5" Floppy.

User avatar
KDan
Curious PSXDEV User
Curious PSXDEV User
Posts: 10
Joined: January 30th, 2018, 6:48 am
I am a: Noob xD
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7502
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Making a PlayStation Link cable

Post by KDan » December 9th, 2018, 2:51 am

LameGuy64 wrote:
December 7th, 2018, 1:28 pm
You can find the pinout right here:
http://hitmen.c02.at/html/psx_siocable.html

I built my own link cable by using the same wiring as a standard null modem cable but adjusted to go in line with the PlayStation's serial pinout. Handshake lines must be wired accordingly in case of games that use handshaking.

If you don't mind modding a pair of consoles replacing the proprietary Serial I/O port with a DB9 would make creating cables much easier.
Do I have to connect the 3.3V too? I made a cable without the 3.3V line connected and I tried to play Duke Nukem 3D in multiplayer but it didn't work. :(

User avatar
LameGuy64
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 300
Joined: April 10th, 2013, 3:47 pm
I am a: Hobbyist Game Developer
Motto: Commercial or not, play it!
PlayStation Model: H2000/7000
Skype: lameguy64
Location: Philippines

Re: Making a PlayStation Link cable

Post by LameGuy64 » December 9th, 2018, 11:21 am

No, don't connect the 3.3v line as that would likely fry something on the console.

Have you followed the standard null modem cable wiring when making the serial cable? (ie. tx -> rx, rx ->tx)
Please don't forget to include my name if you share my work around. Credit where it is due.

Dev. Console: SCPH-7000 with SCPH-7501 ROM, MM3, PAL color fix, Direct AV ports, DB-9 port for Serial I/O, and a Xplorer FX with Caetla 0.35.

DTL-H2000 PC: Dell Optiplex GX110, Windows 98SE & Windows XP, Pentium III 933MHz, 384MB SDRAM, ATI Radeon 7000 VE 64MB, Soundblaster Audigy, 40GB Seagate HDD, Hitachi Lite-on CD-RW Drive, ZIP 250 and 3.5" Floppy.

User avatar
KDan
Curious PSXDEV User
Curious PSXDEV User
Posts: 10
Joined: January 30th, 2018, 6:48 am
I am a: Noob xD
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7502
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Making a PlayStation Link cable

Post by KDan » December 9th, 2018, 11:42 am

LameGuy64 wrote:
December 9th, 2018, 11:21 am
No, don't connect the 3.3v line as that would likely fry something on the console.

Have you followed the standard null modem cable wiring when making the serial cable? (ie. tx -> rx, rx ->tx)
I connected it like this on both sides:
DSR - DTR
RX - TX
RTS - CTS
GND - GND

User avatar
LameGuy64
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 300
Joined: April 10th, 2013, 3:47 pm
I am a: Hobbyist Game Developer
Motto: Commercial or not, play it!
PlayStation Model: H2000/7000
Skype: lameguy64
Location: Philippines

Re: Making a PlayStation Link cable

Post by LameGuy64 » December 9th, 2018, 1:05 pm

You're missing a few handshake lines. I think you need all handshake lines for it to work properly as some games likely need it.

Here's a reference to wiring a null modem cable with full handshaking: https://www.lammertbies.nl/comm/info/RS ... .html#full
Please don't forget to include my name if you share my work around. Credit where it is due.

Dev. Console: SCPH-7000 with SCPH-7501 ROM, MM3, PAL color fix, Direct AV ports, DB-9 port for Serial I/O, and a Xplorer FX with Caetla 0.35.

DTL-H2000 PC: Dell Optiplex GX110, Windows 98SE & Windows XP, Pentium III 933MHz, 384MB SDRAM, ATI Radeon 7000 VE 64MB, Soundblaster Audigy, 40GB Seagate HDD, Hitachi Lite-on CD-RW Drive, ZIP 250 and 3.5" Floppy.

User avatar
KDan
Curious PSXDEV User
Curious PSXDEV User
Posts: 10
Joined: January 30th, 2018, 6:48 am
I am a: Noob xD
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7502
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Making a PlayStation Link cable

Post by KDan » December 9th, 2018, 1:55 pm

LameGuy64 wrote:
December 9th, 2018, 1:05 pm
You're missing a few handshake lines. I think you need all handshake lines for it to work properly as some games likely need it.

Here's a reference to wiring a null modem cable with full handshaking: https://www.lammertbies.nl/comm/info/RS ... .html#full
I wrote I've done it on both sides. This is what I think by that:

DSR - DTR
DTR - DSR
RX - TX
TX - RX
CTS - RTS
RTS - CTS
GND - GND

Sorry for inaccuracy.

User avatar
LameGuy64
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 300
Joined: April 10th, 2013, 3:47 pm
I am a: Hobbyist Game Developer
Motto: Commercial or not, play it!
PlayStation Model: H2000/7000
Skype: lameguy64
Location: Philippines

Re: Making a PlayStation Link cable

Post by LameGuy64 » December 10th, 2018, 12:57 am

Well, the best advice I can give you by this point is to double check your wiring and make sure they are all correct.
Please don't forget to include my name if you share my work around. Credit where it is due.

Dev. Console: SCPH-7000 with SCPH-7501 ROM, MM3, PAL color fix, Direct AV ports, DB-9 port for Serial I/O, and a Xplorer FX with Caetla 0.35.

DTL-H2000 PC: Dell Optiplex GX110, Windows 98SE & Windows XP, Pentium III 933MHz, 384MB SDRAM, ATI Radeon 7000 VE 64MB, Soundblaster Audigy, 40GB Seagate HDD, Hitachi Lite-on CD-RW Drive, ZIP 250 and 3.5" Floppy.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest