socram
Verified
Curious PSXDEV User
Curious PSXDEV User
I am a: Programmer
PlayStation Model: SCPH-102

tonyhax - PS1 softmod backup loader thing using THPS2/3

Post by socram » March 12th, 2021, 8:10 am

Hello! Socram here. It's my first time doing any development on the PS1, but I've done some work on other consoles, such as breaking the amiibo's cryptography. I'm here to present you all a small project I've been working for the past month.

I have a boxed, nearly mint PSone SCPH-102 that I really didn't want to chip, but I really didn't want to leave on a shelf unused either. After seeing there were no alternatives that didn't involve either swapping the spinning disc and risking damaging the mechanism, or physically modding the console, I decided to take matters into my own hands.

After reading on no$psx' documentation about "possible save game exploits", I looked for the cheapest PS1 game I could locally get, and decided to implement one.

Thus tonyhax was born.

tonyhax is a save game exploit that uses a specially crafted save game for the Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2 and 3, in both PAL and NTSC-U versions, to load a custom backup loader that uses no$psx' secret CD unlock commands to enable loading backups on a totally unmodded and stock PS1.

After extensive testing on real hardware and emulator, I've decided today to release the first v1.0 of the exploit to the public. Its source code, as well as pre-compiled binary files, are available at its GitHub page at https://github.com/socram8888/tonyhax, under a WTFPL license.

The source code is coded fully from scratch, and makes use of no pre-made or proprietary libraries - everything is self-contained, and building the entire project only needs a working GCC MIPS compiler.

A short video demoing it it's available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TO6msoWZa2I.

Shadow
Verified
Admin / PSXDEV
Admin / PSXDEV
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502
Discord: Shadow^PSXDEV

Post by Shadow » March 13th, 2021, 3:47 pm