My attempt of mastering PS1 discs without a mastering drive

General PSX CD Troubleshooting, PSX CD-ROM Mastering and Disc Creation
User avatar
LameGuy64
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 381
Joined: April 10th, 2013, 3:47 pm
I am a: Hobbyist Game Developer
Motto: Commercial or not, play it!
PlayStation Model: H2000/7000
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: My attempt of mastering PS1 discs without a mastering dr

Post by LameGuy64 » May 13th, 2013, 11:46 am

inc^lightforce wrote:which OS you have installed?
It runs on:
WIN XP / VISTA/ 7/ 32 & 64 BIT.
Not tested with Windows 8
Does not work on Linux.
DX 9 required. Get the latest DX 9 Version

It's not a PS1 Executable

My Settings and programmed with:
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 BIT
RAM: 24 GB
GFX: Nvidia GeForce GTX 470
DX9

VIRUS TOTAL SCAN: Info Scan here

cheers
I'm pretty sure the reason why it didn't work on my system is that I haven't installed the latest version of DirectX yet (I haven't played any DirectX games for quite a while now). Sorry for the long reply.

And by the way, I found the PPF patch that does the 100% Copy Protection removal for Spyro 3 by Paradox. I just need to look for the proper CD image to apply the patch to before testing.
Please don't forget to include my name if you share my work around. Credit where it is due.

Dev. Console: SCPH-7000 with SCPH-7501 ROM, MM3, PAL color fix, Direct AV ports, DB-9 port for Serial I/O, and a Xplorer FX with Caetla 0.35.

DTL-H2000 PC: Dell Optiplex GX110, Windows 98SE & Windows XP, Pentium III 933MHz, 384MB SDRAM, ATI Radeon 7000 VE 64MB, Soundblaster Audigy, 40GB Seagate HDD, Hitachi Lite-on CD-RW Drive, ZIP 250 and 3.5" Floppy.

sergeymkl
What is PSXDEV?
What is PSXDEV?
Posts: 4
Joined: August 16th, 2013, 7:13 pm

Re: My attempt of mastering PS1 discs without a mastering dr

Post by sergeymkl » August 16th, 2013, 7:29 pm

If you don't to install a stealth chip, just install a toggle switch.
Right after the game boots up disable the chip - problem solved.

Topcronos
PSIO Donator
PSIO Donator
Posts: 20
Joined: January 19th, 2013, 8:53 pm

Re: My attempt of mastering PS1 discs without a mastering dr

Post by Topcronos » November 28th, 2013, 8:36 am

t0rxe wrote:Paradox did a few (you), and so did the B.A.D team.
Legends never die...
Wow...thanks for bringing back old memories.
Slightly out of topic I know, but I just have forgotten the B.A.D team and the good things they have done on the PSX scene back then.


Thanks again :)

User avatar
t0rxe
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 140
Joined: December 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm
IRC: t0rxe
Motto: /\OX[]
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Location: Australia

Re: My attempt of mastering PS1 discs without a mastering dr

Post by t0rxe » November 28th, 2013, 1:39 pm

Don't forget High Society and TRSI :P
"Nostalgia isn't a big enough word to describe the PlayStation from my eyes"

mrjaredbeta
Interested PSXDEV User
Interested PSXDEV User
Posts: 6
Joined: September 28th, 2012, 12:24 pm

Re: My attempt of mastering PS1 discs without a mastering dr

Post by mrjaredbeta » December 3rd, 2013, 4:25 pm

Is there any tutorial on how to master a PS1 backup so it can be played on an unmodded console?

User avatar
t0rxe
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 140
Joined: December 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm
IRC: t0rxe
Motto: /\OX[]
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Location: Australia

Re: My attempt of mastering PS1 discs without a mastering dr

Post by t0rxe » December 3rd, 2013, 8:22 pm

No. You need to create custom burner firmware that can burn a SCEx wobble to do that.
"Nostalgia isn't a big enough word to describe the PlayStation from my eyes"

mrjaredbeta
Interested PSXDEV User
Interested PSXDEV User
Posts: 6
Joined: September 28th, 2012, 12:24 pm

Re: My attempt of mastering PS1 discs without a mastering dr

Post by mrjaredbeta » December 4th, 2013, 11:55 am

Aw shucks. How hard is that?

User avatar
t0rxe
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 140
Joined: December 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm
IRC: t0rxe
Motto: /\OX[]
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Location: Australia

Re: My attempt of mastering PS1 discs without a mastering dr

Post by t0rxe » December 4th, 2013, 1:15 pm

Very difficult. Strong knowledge about how CD-ROM's work in their mathematical sense is required, as well as strong knowledge of assembler. It's quite complex stuff.
"Nostalgia isn't a big enough word to describe the PlayStation from my eyes"

User avatar
Shendo
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 238
Joined: March 21st, 2012, 4:34 am
I am a: Programmer
Motto: Never settle
PlayStation Model: SCPH-9002
Location: Croatia, EU

Re: My attempt of mastering PS1 discs without a mastering dr

Post by Shendo » December 4th, 2013, 5:40 pm

This thread explains in detail why it can't be done.
My PS1 consoles: 2 x SCPH-1002, SCPH-5552, SCPH-7002, 4x SCPH-9002, 2 x SCPH-102.
Dev console: SCPH-9002, MM3 - 7 wire modchip, PAL color mod, CH340 serial cable addon.

User avatar
t0rxe
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 140
Joined: December 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm
IRC: t0rxe
Motto: /\OX[]
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Location: Australia

Re: My attempt of mastering PS1 discs without a mastering dr

Post by t0rxe » December 4th, 2013, 8:23 pm

Image
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"Nostalgia isn't a big enough word to describe the PlayStation from my eyes"

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest