Another PS1 and RGB Question

Miscellaneous and un-categorized content regarding the PlayStation 1
Post Reply
User avatar
ellison
BANNED
BANNED
Posts: 28
Joined: September 22nd, 2016, 12:13 am
I am a: NEET

Another PS1 and RGB Question

Post by ellison » October 27th, 2016, 9:12 am

Most American CRT broadcast monitors have RGB inputs on the back using BNC connectors. To use that with the PlayStation, would I place resistors and capacitors in the same places as they would be in a SCART "AV MULTI OUT" cable?

User avatar
Shadow
Admin / PSXDEV
Admin / PSXDEV
Posts: 2262
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502

Re: Another PS1 and RGB Question

Post by Shadow » October 27th, 2016, 3:37 pm

Depends on the monitor itself if it's doing it internally or not. Usually for the broadcast monitors, you do not need to do this. I don't do it with mine since the monitor can be calibrated to compensate for the effects that the capacitors do to the RGB levels.
Development Console: SCPH-5502 with 8MB RAM, MM3 Modchip, PAL 60 Colour Modification (for NTSC), PSIO Switch Board, DB-9 breakout headers for both RGB and Serial output and an Xplorer with CAETLA 0.34.

PlayStation Development PC: Windows 98 SE, Pentium 3 at 400MHz, 128MB SDRAM, DTL-H2000, DTL-H2010, DTL-H201A, DTL-S2020 (with 4GB SCSI-2 HDD), 21" Sony G420, CD-R burner, 3.25" and 5.25" Floppy Diskette Drives, ZIP 100 Diskette Drive and an IBM Model M keyboard.

User avatar
ellison
BANNED
BANNED
Posts: 28
Joined: September 22nd, 2016, 12:13 am
I am a: NEET

Re: Another PS1 and RGB Question

Post by ellison » October 28th, 2016, 3:44 pm

Thanks, Shadow. I always appreciate your input.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest