Images to TMD

Graphic based area of development (Graphics Processing Unit), including the Geometry Transform Engine (GTE), TIM, STR (MDEC), etc.
Leirisal
What is PSXDEV?
What is PSXDEV?
PlayStation Model: SCPH-9002
Discord: leirisal#0420

Images to TMD

Post by Leirisal » February 6th, 2023, 11:24 am

Hello, I was wondering if there's a simple way (or even a tutorial) on how to convert a picture into a TMD file (so i can set a custom flat logo on launch)
Is that possible? Or does it have to be a 3D object?

PS: I have very little 3D modelling experience.

nocash
Verified
PSX Aficionado
PSX Aficionado

Post by nocash » February 6th, 2023, 12:00 pm

Who or what is supposed to display TMD files when launching what?

TMD files contain models.
TIM files contain bitmaps.

If you want to use a TMD to display a bitmap, then the TMD model would need to contain a single rectangle/polygon, with the corresponding bitmap being stored in a separate TIM file.

But that's terribly overcomplicated, it would be much easier to just display a bitmap, without using TMD models for that purpose.

Leirisal
What is PSXDEV?
What is PSXDEV?

Post by Leirisal » February 6th, 2023, 12:25 pm

nocash wrote: February 6th, 2023, 12:00 pm Who or what is supposed to display TMD files when launching what?

TMD files contain models.
TIM files contain bitmaps.

If you want to use a TMD to display a bitmap, then the TMD model would need to contain a single rectangle/polygon, with the corresponding bitmap being stored in a separate TIM file.

But that's terribly overcomplicated, it would be much easier to just display a bitmap, without using TMD models for that purpose.
Oh so there is a direct way to just show a 2D image on the splash screen? I just started looking into this and I was assuming there were only 3D models.
My idea was to create a file to inject with the PSX Boot Editor, but that one only supports TMD files, from what I can tell...

If there's another way, I'd like to know

nocash
Verified