Page 1 of 1

Hi-res looks glitchy on Real Console?

Posted: January 22nd, 2020, 7:11 am
by MihaiGamerXD
Hello, I got a serious problem, and I don't know exactly what was caused. When I use hi-res mode on my Real Console, it looks glitchy, and transparently. I really don't know what is going on, I'm very confused!

I also looked in OT, seems to be okay enough.
And on Emulators doesn't happen like that, maybe it caused from the Real Console only? Maybe I was wrong at my code...
Here's my source code, in case that I was wrong at my code.
main.zip

Re: Hi-res looks glitchy on Real Console?

Posted: January 22nd, 2020, 12:49 pm
by Shadow
You should reset callbacks before initialising new ones.
Check your GPU buffer positions and setup flags.

IE:
GsNONINTER
GsDefDispBuff(0, 0, 0, SCREEN_HEIGHT);

Re: Hi-res looks glitchy on Real Console?

Posted: January 22nd, 2020, 11:51 pm
by MihaiGamerXD
Shadow wrote: January 22nd, 2020, 12:49 pm Check your GPU buffer positions and setup flags.

IE:
GsNONINTER
GsDefDispBuff(0, 0, 0, SCREEN_HEIGHT);
Ok... Used GsINTER and GsDefDispBuff(0,0,0,0), same problem.
Shadow wrote: January 22nd, 2020, 12:49 pm You should reset callbacks before initialising new ones.
Got it. Seems to be okay on emulator, didn't tested on real console, I'll edit the post when I have tested.
EDIT: SAME PROBLEM!!!

EDIT 2: Seems to be a bug in NTSC resolution (640x480), the screen is shaking. Maybe caused by GsINTER, I'll try using GsNONINTER, but I can't test right now cuz my CD drive from my PC is now broken, so I'll respond later. :(

EDIT 3: Alright, I got the another CD drive, I burned my homebrew game to disc, I have tested on my real console, and I got the same problem. Changed GsNONINTER back to GsINTER, also the resolution to PAL resolution (640x512), then I added new flag, GsRESET3, same problem. :( I really don't know what was caused exactly. But unfortunatelly, I'll refuse to fix this problem and change the resolution to lower resolution. And that's all, I'm sorry! If you still love higher resolution, I can do "Resolution Selector" to change any resolution you want (For example on Roll Boss Rush, how you can change the resolution manually). Anyway, thanks for helping me enough. Message ends...

Re: Hi-res looks glitchy on Real Console?

Posted: May 21st, 2021, 1:04 pm
by rubixcube6
I was running into the same issue. Look at LIBOVR46.PDF (Basic Graphics Library page 8-45)

Here's a direct link to that page: http://static.wituz.com/static/dropbox/ ... F#page=129

I found some sample code for the solution in the Programmers Tool CD 2.2. Go to this folder for the example project: PSX\SAMPLE\GRAPHICS\MISC\GETODE