How to encode STR video files

Graphic based area of development (Graphics Processing Unit), including the Geometry Transform Engine (GTE), TIM, STR (MDEC), etc.
User avatar
SlavaVlasov
Curious PSXDEV User
Curious PSXDEV User
Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 21, 2018
I am a: Romhacker, Programmer, Gamer
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502

Post by SlavaVlasov » May 2nd, 2022, 1:55 pm

I know that VCD doesn't use STR format, but it's not a VCD. This is one of the PS1 video discs, recorded in the format of regular game videoclips + there is a player (PSX.EXE) for PS1, which plays STR. Such discs did not require a "Video CD" console model or additional hardware to play them. But here's a special case: this PS1 video disc was stuffed with over 90 minutes of film. On 1 CD. In a normal STR, this length would not fit on 1 disc. According to other people, this is some combination of MPEG1 and ADPCM. Much more interesting, how was such a video container compiled in general and are there similar cases on other PS1 discs?

User avatar
MsULTIMATEMAX
What is PSXDEV?
What is PSXDEV?
Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 15, 2022
PlayStation Model: SCPH-101
Location: Mexico

Post by MsULTIMATEMAX » November 17th, 2022, 4:03 pm

I've done some batch codes that works with "input" and "output" folders.

Video+Audio (.avi)

Code: Select all

@echo off
cd %~dp0
mkdir Output
for %%a in (input\*.*) do ffmpeg.exe -i "%%a" -vcodec rawvideo -s 320x240 -r 15 -acodec pcm_s16le "output\%%~na.avi"
pause
Audio (.wav)

Code: Select all

@echo off
cd %~dp0
mkdir Output
for %%a in (input\*.*) do ffmpeg.exe -i "%%a" -acodec pcm_s16le -vn "output\%%~na.wav"
pause
Video (.avi)

Code: Select all

@echo off
cd %~dp0
mkdir Output
for %%a in (input\*.*) do ffmpeg.exe -i "%%a" -vcodec rawvideo -s 320x240 -r 15 -an "output\%%~na.avi"
pause
Image

henriquewicz
What is PSXDEV?
What is PSXDEV?
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 13, 2024
PlayStation Model: PS3Cecha01
Discord: henriquewicz
Location: Brazil

Post by henriquewicz » April 13th, 2024, 2:15 am

Hey @lameguy64 thanks for this nice tutorial. i´ve made all process to generate a new STR file to insert in my game. I´ve generated the new following your instructions and i´ve test the generated STR in psmplay. Its all ok.

Any tip to remount the bin? i´ve used anyburn to extract to a folde strucutre, identify the original str, change the orignal for the new and now how can i make a new bin? I have the folder sctruture ready to make.

Is it a way to test in any emul using the folder scruture before remake the bin?
Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest