CosmoGuy
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
I am a: Hell knows who I am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7502

Amiga 500 internal keyboard to USB keyboard

Post by CosmoGuy » December 26th, 2013, 1:12 am

Hi

As in topic, i didn't specially know how exactly name that topic but anyway....

I have got Amiga 500 which is PROBABLY broken [it's without hard disk, floppy and power source].

I'm wondering, it is possible witout any microcontroller do some kind of converter from internal keyboard from Amiga 500 to USB, for connecting it to normal PC.

I found some pinouts on the net, the amiga's site:

It's from some Amiga forum, but they are talking in "their" language which i'm not into :P [simplier: I'm new with this]
The keyboard transmits data serially. The keyboard header pinout is:
1 DATA
2 CLOCK
3 RESET
4 +5V
5 key, removed pin
6 GROUND
7 STATUS (led +5V power)
8 INUSE -"-

And USB:
1 VCC Red +5 VDC
2 D- White Data -
3 D+ Green Data +
4 GND Black Ground
If some microcontroller/simple CPU is specially needed, i have two STM32 and one 8-bit ATMega but i don't even know how to use them in that way, they are probably too big for being just a converter between hardware(s) i guess... ?

I think the problem could be that i don't know where to plug "data -" pin from USB to amiga's keyboard (INUSE - ???), also the timing of "main keyboard cpu" from amiga [it's working should be compatibile in some way to work with usb]

keyboard's IC from Amiga: ["main keyboard cpu" as i named it]
jpg.jpgImage
The timer proc. from amiga's keyboard PCB is Matsushita AN1555 but it doesn't say anything. How can i align timing between amiga's timer and PC's usb timing, and ALSO reset section?

Or maybe i'm complicating to much.

I'd be VERY VERY glad for useful replies [please don't reply "search google", i hate it, i was searching about 1,5 hour and everything is very advanced], also i'm starting to learn electronics stuff so please try to be nice to me :) Just this :).