Can't Get VM Image Working

Anything other than PlayStation content may be posted here
Post Reply
PSXIndieDev
What is PSXDEV?
What is PSXDEV?
Posts: 4
Joined: December 13th, 2017, 3:27 pm

Can't Get VM Image Working

Post by PSXIndieDev » February 28th, 2019, 6:21 am

I am trying to get the hard disk image from http://www.psxdev.net/help/virtual_machine.html to work. However I have hit a snag. When i launch the VM using VMWare Workstation the mouse pointer ssems to be stuck to the top left of the screen and clicking on the VM or hitting Ctrl+G doesn't work either. Also it is telling my that my hardware changed and I need to reactivate the OS in 3 days.

User avatar
gwald
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
Posts: 256
Joined: September 18th, 2013, 8:44 am
I am a: programmer/DBA
PlayStation Model: Net Yaroze
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Can't Get VM Image Working

Post by gwald » February 28th, 2019, 9:12 am

PSXIndieDev LOL
"Independent" what now?
This isn't twitter Dorothy :P

re VM, try a different player or I think Virtual Box can open VM images...

User avatar
danhans42
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///
Posts: 255
Joined: November 28th, 2012, 11:51 pm
IRC: danhans42
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7502
Want to Find: Inspiration
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Can't Get VM Image Working

Post by danhans42 » March 1st, 2019, 12:41 am

I would reactivate windows and reinstall the vmware addons... if the version of vmware is different from the version it was created in the VMware additions wont work correctly.

Windows XP activation - there are plenty of WPA activators around.
♥ PSX - http://psx0.wordpress.com

My collection - SCPH-102/SCPH-7502, Yaroze Modded PSone, PocketStation (Clear), 2x Xplorer Carts, 2x Xplorer Pro, 2x AR Carts (1 with Ezoray), GS Pro 3, ISA Comms Link Card. Various USB serial devices, Gameshark Sharklink, Kentai Eddy, iMode Cable & other bits and bobs.

rama3
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///
Posts: 442
Joined: April 16th, 2017, 10:54 pm

Re: Can't Get VM Image Working

Post by rama3 » March 1st, 2019, 7:37 pm

Regarding XP activation:
I just build another retro PC and installed an old XP SP3 on it.
Since I'll never connect it to the Internet, I had to try some alternatives.
Most fixes only work briefly, or the system locks you out unexpectedly at some point.
Only one solution seems to work reliably: Find a volume license key.

User avatar
danhans42
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///
Posts: 255
Joined: November 28th, 2012, 11:51 pm
IRC: danhans42
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7502
Want to Find: Inspiration
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Can't Get VM Image Working

Post by danhans42 » March 1st, 2019, 11:23 pm

Easiest one I found was actually activating by telephone... always works no matter where I got the key from. I think after a while Microsoft stop actually caring after a while as I had the same with Office 2010.
♥ PSX - http://psx0.wordpress.com

My collection - SCPH-102/SCPH-7502, Yaroze Modded PSone, PocketStation (Clear), 2x Xplorer Carts, 2x Xplorer Pro, 2x AR Carts (1 with Ezoray), GS Pro 3, ISA Comms Link Card. Various USB serial devices, Gameshark Sharklink, Kentai Eddy, iMode Cable & other bits and bobs.

PSXIndieDev
What is PSXDEV?
What is PSXDEV?
Posts: 4
Joined: December 13th, 2017, 3:27 pm

Re: Can't Get VM Image Working

Post by PSXIndieDev » March 4th, 2019, 1:44 pm

I managed to get the license activated via the safe mode trick.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests