Motor won't spin + cursor dead

General information to do with the PlayStation 1 Hardware. Including modchips, pinouts, rare or obscure development equipment, etc.
r1sc
What is PSXDEV?
What is PSXDEV?

Motor won't spin + cursor dead

Post by r1sc » March 21st, 2020, 10:45 am

Hi!
PlayStation newbie here!

I've just bought my first "fully functioning" PS1 (SCPH-1002) from an auction site. We'll it's "fully functioning" to the extent that it boots into the menu screen with sound and everything. But it won't read discs. I should mention that I've only tried red book audio discs, because I don't own any games. Also the cursor doesn't move when I press right on the D-Pad in the menu screen, however I can enter into the cart management screen by pressing any of the action buttons ( :triangle :circle :cross :square ). I realize this might actually be a fault in the controller, but nonetheless, it seemed worth mentioning.

First I noticed I didn't get any red light on the laser, so I checked all cables, which seemed fine. Started checking for obvious errors on the MB and found PS602 to be blown (8V rail). After replacing that with a new fuse, the red light comes on, but the motor still doesn't spin. I checked the motor by itself by carefully applying an external 9V battery to it's leads (while isolated from the system ofc) and it spins happily so I don't think the motor itself is broken.

I read that the motor won't spin on the PlayStation if the laser doesn't detect any disc. Is this correct? No spin at all? Because it doesn't move an inch while I hold down the lid detection button (the laser goes up, down, up and down again though).

I realize that this might be a shot in the dark, but does anyone have any idea of what might be wrong here?

Best regards,
r1sc

rama3
Verified
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///

Post by rama3 » March 21st, 2020, 11:27 am

That's correct, the spindle motor doesn't start until the photodiodes report some laser light back.