Playstation schp 1000 region lock

General information to do with the PlayStation 1 Hardware. Including modchips, pinouts, rare or obscure development equipment, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
vj88
Curious PSXDEV User
Curious PSXDEV User
Posts: 17
Joined: March 13th, 2017, 11:09 am

Playstation schp 1000 region lock

Post by vj88 » December 23rd, 2017, 3:20 am

Hi all, I would like to buy a ps1 1000. I red somewhere that this first model could run other region games (such as PAL)... is it true? Have I to put in a ntsc-J game and perform the CD player trick or is it automatic?
Thank you. ^ ^
Playstation: Net Yaroze DTL-H3000
(with AK4309AVM mod and DTL-H1100 external PSU)
Parallel I/O Port: PSIO
PSX BIOS: V2.2 NTSC-UC

User avatar
TriMesh
PSX Aptitude
PSX Aptitude
Posts: 193
Joined: December 20th, 2013, 2:25 pm
PlayStation Model: DTL-H1202
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Playstation schp 1000 region lock

Post by TriMesh » December 23rd, 2017, 1:49 pm

It's true for most SCPH-1000s - this was a bug in the boot ROM and it was changed late in the production run so you might be unlucky and get one where it doesn't work.

You do need an original NTSC:J disc and there is a specific procedure you need to use.

Turn on console with no disc in it and go to the CD player
Put the NTSC:J original into the drive
Hold down the door switch and wait for the console to read the disc
Swap the disc with the import one (without releasing the door switch)
Exit from the CD player and the disc should boot

There are a couple of other things you should be aware of
One is that when booting non-Japanese discs the console doesn't show that black screen with the PlayStation logo but rather goes straight to the boot screen of the game.
The other is that if you want to run PAL games in color you need an RGB video cable because the composite and Y/C outputs will only display in black and white due to an out-of-spec colorburst. The video in PAL mode is also about 1% fast compared to a native PAL console but you are unlikely to notice that.

User avatar
vj88
Curious PSXDEV User
Curious PSXDEV User
Posts: 17
Joined: March 13th, 2017, 11:09 am

Re: Playstation schp 1000 region lock

Post by vj88 » December 25th, 2017, 2:07 am

Thanks!! And do you know if there is a way to recognize them? In order to increase possibilities in the purchase... From serials maybe?
https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/ITAAAOSw ... -l1600.jpg
Playstation: Net Yaroze DTL-H3000
(with AK4309AVM mod and DTL-H1100 external PSU)
Parallel I/O Port: PSIO
PSX BIOS: V2.2 NTSC-UC

User avatar
TriMesh
PSX Aptitude
PSX Aptitude
Posts: 193
Joined: December 20th, 2013, 2:25 pm
PlayStation Model: DTL-H1202
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Playstation schp 1000 region lock

Post by TriMesh » December 25th, 2017, 9:10 pm

I can't be 100%, but I have a unit here also made in the Kisarazu plant with a higher serial number than that and it has the old boot ROM in it, so I think there is an excellent chance that one does too.

rama3
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///
Posts: 456
Joined: April 16th, 2017, 10:54 pm

Re: Playstation schp 1000 region lock

Post by rama3 » December 26th, 2017, 3:53 pm

"A56" is super early. I agree with TriMesh, it should have the early BIOS and work.

User avatar
vj88
Curious PSXDEV User
Curious PSXDEV User
Posts: 17
Joined: March 13th, 2017, 11:09 am

Re: Playstation schp 1000 region lock

Post by vj88 » December 27th, 2017, 10:02 pm

Wonderful!!! Thanks! Bought it..now just hope that it has the true pu7 motherboard in it, cause I forget to ask for a image of the back! ^ ^" two last questions: I have a 1002 perfectly working whit no "shadows banding"(sgram?), a 7xxx and this one from japan...wich one suit better for PSIO? I was thinking of putting it on the 1000 (cause of the told better video quality) but I red somewhere that it has some graphic problems (shadows banding included) that were fixed in later models...is it true? And the super noob question: there is a way to put newer cpu and sgram in a scph 1000? And why no? Thanks again, you are all great! :)
Playstation: Net Yaroze DTL-H3000
(with AK4309AVM mod and DTL-H1100 external PSU)
Parallel I/O Port: PSIO
PSX BIOS: V2.2 NTSC-UC

User avatar
TriMesh
PSX Aptitude
PSX Aptitude
Posts: 193
Joined: December 20th, 2013, 2:25 pm
PlayStation Model: DTL-H1202
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Playstation schp 1000 region lock

Post by TriMesh » January 1st, 2018, 9:16 pm

If it's an SCPH-1000 it will have a PU-7 board in it. Unlike the US and European markets where SCPH-1001/SCPH-1002 covered a wide range of hardware specs the Japanese changed the part number when they changed the hardware.

SCPH-1000: Early machines with a PU-7 board
SCPH-3000: Later machines, no S-Video jack, PU-7 or PU-8
SCPH-3500: "Fighting pack" machine - all the ones I've seen have been PU-8 - also no S-Video
SCPH-5000: Later PU-8 with SGRAM

All these hardware configurations were supplied under the same SCPH-1001/SCPH-1002 part number in NTSC:U/C and PAL territories.

From the sounds of it, your SCPH-1002 has the late model PU-8 in it with the new GPU and SGRAM. The 7xxx machines also have the new GPU and SGRAM. The SCPH-1000 will have the old GPU and VRAM.

The entire video subsystem (GPU, RAM, Video DAC) is different between the VRAM based machines and SGRAM based ones so there is no practical way of modifying one board to the other spec. About the only thing you could do would be to swap the main board since they are physically compatible with each other.

All the consoles you've mentioned will work with PSIO - which one to use is basically down to personal preference - for example, if you intend to mostly play PAL titles then it's best to start with a machine with PAL video output like the SCPH-1002.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest