Recompile Yaroze Source

Need help for the Yaroze SDK? Ask a question or look for an answer here. For programming questions or anything else, please see the PlayStation 1 section since the Yaroze has the exact same hardware as a normal PlayStation
ChrisRx
What is PSXDEV?
What is PSXDEV?
Posts: 2
Joined: January 6th, 2019, 10:16 am

Re: Recompile Yaroze Source

Post by ChrisRx » January 7th, 2019, 4:28 am

I started working on a cross compiler toolchain recently so I could do Net Yaroze programming on Linux, and I figured I would share my progress if anyone is interested:

https://github.com/ChrisRx/mipsel-ecoff-toolchain

I have built this on Arch Linux and in a docker container with Debian and successfully built out a toolchain that compiled the sample/check program provided by the SDK without errors (and the object dump looked correct as far as I can tell also). I ended up stepping down versions of GCC until I got to the one mentioned in the `Net Yaroze For Linux` document mentioned in this thread. I am working on getting it transfered to the Net Yaroze to make sure it actually works at the moment. Just wanted to say thanks to the information everyone has provided here, it was incredibly helpful and I look forward to (hopefully) finally doing some programming on my Net Yaroze!

User avatar
gwald
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
Posts: 256
Joined: September 18th, 2013, 8:44 am
I am a: programmer/DBA
PlayStation Model: Net Yaroze
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Recompile Yaroze Source

Post by gwald » January 11th, 2019, 9:36 am

Welcome Chris!!!
... you are a brave man!
Good work... thanks for sharing!

ChrisRx
What is PSXDEV?
What is PSXDEV?
Posts: 2
Joined: January 6th, 2019, 10:16 am

Re: Recompile Yaroze Source

Post by ChrisRx » January 13th, 2019, 5:09 am

So good news, it appears to be valid since I can run it in an emulator! The bad new though is that I can't seem to get it transferred over unfortunately. I'm running into errors where it says "SYNC ERROR (FFFFFFFF)" and aborts the transfer everytime (this is using siocons compiled in linux). The "Net Yaroze for Linux" document seems to reference a better utility for loading it called hssutils, but I can't seem to find that anymore. Does anyone know if that is available anywhere to download still, or possibly has it download locally and would be willing to provide it?

User avatar
danhans42
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///
Posts: 270
Joined: November 28th, 2012, 11:51 pm
IRC: danhans42
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7502
Want to Find: Inspiration
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Recompile Yaroze Source

Post by danhans42 » January 13th, 2019, 7:56 am

If you can't get that working try dosbox.. not ideal but at least you can try the DOS tools.

Siocons in Linux works fine for me on amd64 and on my raspberrypi, just not at slow speeds.. try changing the baud rate if you are using 9600bps
♥ PSX - http://psx0.wordpress.com

My collection - SCPH-102/SCPH-7502, Yaroze Modded PSone, PocketStation (Clear), 2x Xplorer Carts, 2x Xplorer Pro, 2x AR Carts (1 with Ezoray), GS Pro 3, ISA Comms Link Card. Various USB serial devices, Gameshark Sharklink, Kentai Eddy, iMode Cable & other bits and bobs.

User avatar
danhans42
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///
Posts: 270
Joined: November 28th, 2012, 11:51 pm
IRC: danhans42
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7502
Want to Find: Inspiration
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Recompile Yaroze Source

Post by danhans42 » March 12th, 2019, 1:36 am

Hi Chris,

Did you manage to test the output from your setup on real hardware at all? I have a nice linux machine setup for this and was going to give it a try.
♥ PSX - http://psx0.wordpress.com

My collection - SCPH-102/SCPH-7502, Yaroze Modded PSone, PocketStation (Clear), 2x Xplorer Carts, 2x Xplorer Pro, 2x AR Carts (1 with Ezoray), GS Pro 3, ISA Comms Link Card. Various USB serial devices, Gameshark Sharklink, Kentai Eddy, iMode Cable & other bits and bobs.

Davermouse
What is PSXDEV?
What is PSXDEV?
Posts: 2
Joined: May 14th, 2019, 8:21 am

Re: Recompile Yaroze Source

Post by Davermouse » May 14th, 2019, 8:35 am

Hi guys,

I've had a play with this on my Macbook Pro and I can confirm that it works really well and does produce binaries that work on the Yaroze - I've made a little Docker setup at https://github.com/Davermouse/docker-yaroze which builds a VM with the compiler in it which should in theory work anywhere you can use Docker.

I had a similar issue pushing binaries to my console over a USB serial adapter from the Mac, I'm not entirely convinced, but I made it work 80% of the time at least by adding some delays to the handshake code in siocons - my vague theory is that the emulated port wasn't setting handshake lines quite as quickly as would be ideal. I can upload my tweaked source somewhere if that'd be of use.

Many thanks for getting this all to work though!

User avatar
gwald
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
1997 Yaroze Enthusiast
Posts: 256
Joined: September 18th, 2013, 8:44 am
I am a: programmer/DBA
PlayStation Model: Net Yaroze
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Recompile Yaroze Source

Post by gwald » May 17th, 2019, 11:14 am

Ha cool!
Have you used my yarexe by any chance?
https://github.com/gwald/Yarexe

It's a hack of all the exe's that turn the yaroze's siocon's auto file into a single ps1 exe, which then the emulator ran, with printf debugging.. that was 90% of my workflow and worked pretty well, way faster then hardware (I used no$PSX and PCSXR).

It's for windows, never thought of porting it to linux, but it 'should' run in wine too.. never tested it :?

edit: I just compiled it in linux, it was missing the strlwr strupr funcs and it compiled, I haven't tested it tho, but it should work, not sure how 64bit compliant that hacky coding is :lol: :lol: :shrug
Anyway, let me know if you use it or have issues with it.

Mike.

User avatar
danhans42
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///
/// PSXDEV | ELITE ///
Posts: 270
Joined: November 28th, 2012, 11:51 pm
IRC: danhans42
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7502
Want to Find: Inspiration
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Recompile Yaroze Source

Post by danhans42 » May 18th, 2019, 1:00 am

This is great work and a great first post!! will give it a try.

So with this approach, along with the source version of siocons we pretty much can leave DOS behind for Yaroze development. Yay!
♥ PSX - http://psx0.wordpress.com

My collection - SCPH-102/SCPH-7502, Yaroze Modded PSone, PocketStation (Clear), 2x Xplorer Carts, 2x Xplorer Pro, 2x AR Carts (1 with Ezoray), GS Pro 3, ISA Comms Link Card. Various USB serial devices, Gameshark Sharklink, Kentai Eddy, iMode Cable & other bits and bobs.

Davermouse
What is PSXDEV?
What is PSXDEV?
Posts: 2
Joined: May 14th, 2019, 8:21 am

Re: Recompile Yaroze Source

Post by Davermouse » May 19th, 2019, 7:06 am

Cheers, hopefully it's of some use to somebody.

I've actually got a matching slightly more hackily fixed version of Yarexe I've used on the Mac - cheers for updating it properly, if you don't mind I'll have a go at adding it to the Docker image - then it should be possible to make your exe entirely in the image and remove another external step.

I did have some fun and games finding a nice native emulator for Mac which accepts a exe - in the end I'm using mednafen, I've had some funky cmake issues with PCSXR but I should give that another go at some point.

I've just made a little tweak to the project to improve the first run experience - it'll now copy the sample check project into place for you so you have something to play with straight away. If anyone does have a go with it please let me know how it goes...

paulm
Curious PSXDEV User
Curious PSXDEV User
Posts: 16
Joined: June 6th, 2019, 8:08 am
Location: milkyway

Re: Recompile Yaroze Source

Post by paulm » August 4th, 2019, 8:28 pm

Could this work as a replacement for the official PSYQ SDK compiler? I heard that psymake can be replaced with an old version of wmake. Perhaps CC can be replaced with this too?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests