Paging

General Programming help in C, C++ or ASM, Compiling / Debugging, and R3000A Central Processing Unit (CPU) information
Tylerpsx
Curious PSXDEV User
Curious PSXDEV User
I am a: Programmer
Motto: You can do it if you know how
PlayStation Model: 5501

Paging

Post by Tylerpsx » November 21st, 2022, 5:51 am

Is there any documentation on how to do paging on psx systems like how they did paging for crash 1

nocash
Verified
PSX Aficionado
PSX Aficionado

Post by nocash » November 23rd, 2022, 1:03 am

What are you talking about? Web pages, Memory pages, Texture pages? And what is a crash 1 paging?

Tylerpsx
Curious PSXDEV User
Curious PSXDEV User

Post by Tylerpsx » January 8th, 2023, 1:53 pm

Considering your an elite programmer I’m suppressed you don’t know what paging spelled p a g I n g
Don’t be an asshole I’m new to this

In x86 architecture paging is when you take part of your hard-drive or mass storage in this case they did in crash bandicoot and uses it as a memory storage device so you can use more memory than the ram is in what’s known as virtual paging I know this because I used to do this when I worked at Microsoft working on the damn os’s windows 7 remember that shit I helped create that so I might be knew to ps1 architecture but I’ve got almost 20 years of bare metal c and probably more in programming languages you don’t even know
So I was trying to be respectful but If your going to be an asshole I’ll look at the microchips and engineer my own code for it thanks

Shadow
Verified
Admin / PSXDEV
Admin / PSXDEV
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502
Discord: Shadow^PSXDEV

Post by Shadow » January 8th, 2023, 11:04 pm