Code an Intro or Demo and run it without PS1 Hardware

General Programming help in C, C++ or ASM, Compiling / Debugging, and R3000A Central Processing Unit (CPU) information
Post Reply
User avatar
inc^lightforce
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 149
Joined: March 7th, 2013, 7:34 am
I am a: Programmer Windows+PS1, GFX Artist
PlayStation Model: Black
Skype: a5recordings
Location: Germany

Code an Intro or Demo and run it without PS1 Hardware

Post by inc^lightforce » March 14th, 2013, 10:20 pm

In 1999 till last week i used a Windows 98 PC with ISA Communication Card, the PS1 an ActionReplay and the Cable + a TV.

Many people asked me on Youtube: Is it possible with EMULATION in Windows xp or 7? i never figured it out because my SDK was an 16 BIT PSYQ SDK and i failed over the years while trying to get it work with Windows XP 32 BIT. Last week i found this REALLY NICE Board and here, a 32 BIT relevant PSYQ-SDK :dance

i replaced my old Versions of some "EXE-Files" and voila ...

... Finally i set the Development Environment for Windows XP 32 Bit.
There is no longer needed a Playstation 1 or a TV or a Connection to relevant PSX Hardware.

It is now possible to Code a Demo or Program with eg. NOTEPAD. I wrote a BATCH FILE that contain all necessary Commands for compiling and calling the Win based PS 1 Emulation for preview like in the old Days with Hardware Connection to the PSX Console.

Automatically it call the epsxe EMU and run the "CODE WORK PROGRESS". MORE THAN EASY to programm for our beloved PLAYSTATION 1.

For Help. Ask me.

The Video was captured on Windows XP 32 BIT Pentium 4. Sorry for the Lag.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fioSjMXPbTs

User avatar
bizarro2011
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
Posts: 118
Joined: March 27th, 2012, 9:09 pm
Skype: abernardo2011
Location: Brazil

Re: Code an Intro or Demo and run it without PS1 Hardware

Post by bizarro2011 » April 24th, 2013, 8:28 am

look this video compiling (emulador)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=p ... BvB5xfhw#!

User avatar
inc^lightforce
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 149
Joined: March 7th, 2013, 7:34 am
I am a: Programmer Windows+PS1, GFX Artist
PlayStation Model: Black
Skype: a5recordings
Location: Germany

Re: Code an Intro or Demo and run it without PS1 Hardware

Post by inc^lightforce » April 24th, 2013, 9:17 am

i've seen it in your other post.

like i said. it was a long way getting the dev kit running only on PC. all the years i only had 16 BIT Software. That's why i never could it run on XP or 7.
as i found the PSXDEV.NET i also found the correct 32 Bit compiler and voila. it worked :)

User avatar
bizarro2011
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
Posts: 118
Joined: March 27th, 2012, 9:09 pm
Skype: abernardo2011
Location: Brazil

Re: Code an Intro or Demo and run it without PS1 Hardware

Post by bizarro2011 » April 24th, 2013, 10:56 pm

I did that video, you're creating something for competion?
psyq you use the sony? you use emulator or hardware?
some program is working?

User avatar
inc^lightforce
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 149
Joined: March 7th, 2013, 7:34 am
I am a: Programmer Windows+PS1, GFX Artist
PlayStation Model: Black
Skype: a5recordings
Location: Germany

Re: Code an Intro or Demo and run it without PS1 Hardware

Post by inc^lightforce » April 24th, 2013, 11:38 pm

unfortunately i saw it too late and have no time to make something well till the end. i use psy-q since 1999. from the beginning to 2003 i used a, PS1, PC, Hardware Coders Comm Card and so on. lastly i used it in 2010. since 2013 i switched to PC only with ePSXe EMU for test the programm i wrote.

all my programs are working. but i am only in the cracking and demoscene. a lil bunch you can see here:
psx pal2ntsc / trainer codings: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL ... e=view_all

visit my Workshop :) : http://psxdev.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=272

cheers

patrickvogt
Interested PSXDEV User
Interested PSXDEV User
Posts: 7
Joined: May 3rd, 2013, 5:37 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Code an Intro or Demo and run it without PS1 Hardware

Post by patrickvogt » May 4th, 2013, 7:33 am

inc^lightforce wrote:Automatically it call the epsxe EMU and run the "CODE WORK PROGRESS". MORE THAN EASY to programm for our beloved PLAYSTATION 1.
... I have one question: Is the ePSXe still runiing when you close the main window? I think every version of this emulator I tried never killed the main process and I've ended up with about 10-20 zombie processes of ePSXe, which does nothing other than wasting CPU time and memory space. That's why I never used this emu for a little Hello World PSX-example.

User avatar
inc^lightforce
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 149
Joined: March 7th, 2013, 7:34 am
I am a: Programmer Windows+PS1, GFX Artist
PlayStation Model: Black
Skype: a5recordings
Location: Germany

Re: Code an Intro or Demo and run it without PS1 Hardware

Post by inc^lightforce » May 4th, 2013, 8:59 am

ich weiß was du meinst.
du musst das intro immer mit [ESC] beenden. wenn du mit der Maus auf das ROTE X oben rechts klixt, dann beendet es ePSXe nicht, sondern läuft weiter im hintergrund.
Also immer [ESC] drücken.
wenn du hilfe brauchst beim Coden, einfach fragen :)

◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘◘

Call the PS1 INTRO or PS1 DEMO with ePSXe PS1- Emu automatically after compiling without prompt and get it directly running from your BATCH:
epsxe.exe -nogui intro.exe

easy does it

User avatar
t0rxe
C Programming Expert
C Programming Expert
Posts: 140
Joined: December 19th, 2012, 8:08 pm
IRC: t0rxe
Motto: /\OX[]
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Location: Australia

Re: Code an Intro or Demo and run it without PS1 Hardware

Post by t0rxe » May 4th, 2013, 1:28 pm

Yeah, ePSXe stays running afterwards. I press CTRL + SHIFT + ESC to bring up Task Manager and kill it. If I remember correctly, there was a setting to force close it though on exit, but maybe that was for PSXeven.
"Nostalgia isn't a big enough word to describe the PlayStation from my eyes"

User avatar
inc^lightforce
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 149
Joined: March 7th, 2013, 7:34 am
I am a: Programmer Windows+PS1, GFX Artist
PlayStation Model: Black
Skype: a5recordings
Location: Germany

Re: Code an Intro or Demo and run it without PS1 Hardware

Post by inc^lightforce » May 5th, 2013, 2:00 am

you have to press [ESC] for exiting the EMU. don't press with Mouse on the red "X" in the upper right window for closing because this caused the problem the emu always continues and for exiting you must open the TASK MANAGER.

AVOID THIS WHILE PRESSING [ESC]

that's it.

User avatar
bizarro2011
Serious PSXDEV User
Serious PSXDEV User
Posts: 118
Joined: March 27th, 2012, 9:09 pm
Skype: abernardo2011
Location: Brazil

Re: Code an Intro or Demo and run it without PS1 Hardware

Post by bizarro2011 » May 5th, 2013, 5:49 am

Anyone know tim create file with this format?

unsigned long mat0[] = {
0x10000000,
0x08000000,
0x2c000000,
0x0000e001,
0x10000100,
0x00801000,
0x00021002,
0x00401040,

...

Tommy
Active PSXDEV User
Active PSXDEV User
Posts: 48
Joined: April 19th, 2014, 8:16 am

Re: Code an Intro or Demo and run it without PS1 Hardware

Post by Tommy » April 22nd, 2014, 6:40 am

inc^lightforce wrote:Many people asked me on Youtube: Is it possible with EMULATION in Windows xp or 7? i never figured it out because my SDK was an 16 BIT PSYQ SDK
Late, and very tangential but was the "16 BIT PSYQ SDK" you refer to purely DOS based? If so then would you be willing to sell your old copy?

I ask because for those of us that don't use Windows, such a thing would be a godsend — DOSBox is free, integrates better with other OSes and much faster than running Windows in a virtual machine. It's just like having a very awkward different kind of terminal.

User avatar
inc^lightforce
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 149
Joined: March 7th, 2013, 7:34 am
I am a: Programmer Windows+PS1, GFX Artist
PlayStation Model: Black
Skype: a5recordings
Location: Germany

Re: Code an Intro or Demo and run it without PS1 Hardware

Post by inc^lightforce » April 25th, 2014, 5:27 am

The SDK was pure DOS. i also used Windows 98 for some win based GFX tools.
if you still need it i can make a package for you. let me know

User avatar
Shadow
Admin / PSXDEV
Admin / PSXDEV
Posts: 2262
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502

Re: Code an Intro or Demo and run it without PS1 Hardware

Post by Shadow » April 25th, 2014, 5:51 pm

The Psy-Q SDK is based for DOS anyway. Just check the version number of the one you have. So long as it's a 1:1 copy of the original, I'll put it on the downloads page.
Development Console: SCPH-5502 with 8MB RAM, MM3 Modchip, PAL 60 Colour Modification (for NTSC), PSIO Switch Board, DB-9 breakout headers for both RGB and Serial output and an Xplorer with CAETLA 0.34.

PlayStation Development PC: Windows 98 SE, Pentium 3 at 400MHz, 128MB SDRAM, DTL-H2000, DTL-H2010, DTL-H201A, DTL-S2020 (with 4GB SCSI-2 HDD), 21" Sony G420, CD-R burner, 3.25" and 5.25" Floppy Diskette Drives, ZIP 100 Diskette Drive and an IBM Model M keyboard.

User avatar
inc^lightforce
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Psy-Q Enthusiast
Posts: 149
Joined: March 7th, 2013, 7:34 am
I am a: Programmer Windows+PS1, GFX Artist
PlayStation Model: Black
Skype: a5recordings
Location: Germany

Re: Code an Intro or Demo and run it without PS1 Hardware

Post by inc^lightforce » August 3rd, 2014, 10:30 am

i'll check my version.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest